Highlights stage 1 of La Vuelta 2021: Burgos - Burgos (CRI)
Image: VAVEL


2:57 PMa month ago


The Slovenian Jumbo Visma rider takes 8'32" at the finish line and wins the first stage of La Vuelta 2021.
2:56 PMa month ago

Tratnik and Cerny, very close

The Jumbo Visma rider came in at two seconds and the Deceunink - Quick Step rider at four seconds.
2:54 PMa month ago

Enric Mas arrives

The Movistar Spaniard was 12 seconds behind, with reference to Alex Aranburu.
2:49 PMa month ago

Primoz Roglic!

The Slovenian, current BI-Champion of La Vuelta, begins the defense of his throne.
2:47 PMa month ago

Egan Bernal begins

The reigning Giro d'Italia champion starts the time trial.
2:47 PMa month ago

Aleksandr Vlasov begins

8:46 for the Russian rider. He gets into the Top 10 of the stage.
2:46 PMa month ago

Enric Mas begins

Egan Bernal and Primoz Roglic are the second to last riders to start!
2:37 PMa month ago

Sergio Luis Henao begins

Penultimate Colombian rider to start.
2:35 PMa month ago

Richard Caarapaz arrives

The Ecuadorian arrived 19 seconds behind Aranburu.
2:33 PMa month ago

Miguel Ángel López arrives

The Colombian rider clocked a time of 8'53". 15 seconds difference with Aranburu at the finish line.
2:33 PMa month ago

We still have 19

We still have riders like Aleksandr Vlasov, Romain Bardet, Hugh John Carthy, Egan Bernal, Enric Mas and Primoz Roglic.
2:28 PMa month ago

Richard Carapaz begins

Ecuadorian, Olympic campaign gets underway!
2:27 PMa month ago

Miguel Ángel López begins

Movistar's Colombian cyclist is on the move.
2:23 PMa month ago

Chad Haga arrives!

8:49 for the American of Team DSM. 11 seconds difference.
2:16 PMa month ago

Jonathan Lastra arrives!

The Spanish Caja Rural rider is 52 seconds off the leader's time.
2:12 PMa month ago

The fact: 30 different nationalities in La Vuelta 2021

Some thirty nationalities are represented in La Vuelta 21, with Spanish riders logically dominating, with up to 40 entries, just double the number of Belgian representatives (20). France (18), Italy and the Netherlands (both with 14) and Australia (11) follow in this table, which is completed as follows: Great Britain (7), United States (6), Germany and Colombia (5), Ecuador and Slovenia (4), South Africa, Austria, Denmark and Czech Republic (3), Canada, Estonia, Israel, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Russia and Switzerland (2) and Japan, Norway, Sweden and Ukraine (1).
2:11 PMa month ago

Sepp Kuss arrives

The Jumbo Visma rider scored 08'56" and placed fifth in the stage.
2:10 PMa month ago

40 runners remain

136 riders have already crossed the finish line and Alex Aranburu continues to lead the stage.
1:57 PMa month ago

Partial top 5 at the finish line

  1. Alex Aranburu (Astana - Premier Tech) - 08'38"
  2. Tom Scully (EF ducation - Nippo) - a 00'04"
  3. Dylan Van Baarle (Ineos Grenadiers) - a 00'05"
  4. Adam Yates (Ineos Grenadiers) - a 00'14"
  5. Ryan Gibbons (UAE Team Emirates) - a 00'14"
1:51 PMa month ago

🆕 Career situation

117 riders have already finished their race. Spaniard Alex Aranburu (Astana - Premier Tech) is currently the leader with a time of 8 minutes and 38 seconds.
1:45 PMa month ago

We start!

We are now ready to bring you the actions of the prologue of La Vuelta 2021.
3:55 AMa month ago

Tune in here La Vuelta 2021 Stage 1 Live Coverage Updates

Don't miss a single detail of stage 1 of La Vuelta 2021, with VAVEL's live updates and commentary. Follow with us all the details and analysis of this race.
3:50 AMa month ago

How to watch La Vuelta 2021 Stage 1 Live Stream on TV and Online in United States?

If you want to watch the 2021 Tour de France - Stage 1 live on TV from USA, your option is:  NBC Sports

If you want to watch it on internet, VAVEL USA is your best option!

3:45 AMa month ago

Route of the Stage 1

The start of the competition will be with a prologue, short, just 7 kilometers long, which will have the climb to the top of the castle as the first mountainous difficulty as well.
3:40 AMa month ago

Diego Camargo (EF Education - Nippo)

The EF Education - Nippo rider is the youngest of the Colombian participants and will surely be one of the supports of Hugh John Carthy, who is presented as team leader in this competition.
3:35 AMa month ago

Sergio Luis Henao (Qhubeka NextHash)

The experienced rider will participate for the seventh time in La Vuelta, and the main objective will be to take some victories and help leader Fabio Aru to do well in the competition.
3:30 AMa month ago

Juan Sebastian Molano (UAE Team Emirates)

In his third participation in La Vuelta, the 26-year-old rider, riding for UAE Team Emirates, which has Spanish leader David De La Cruz as its leader, will be looking for a couple of victories, taking advantage of his speed skills.
3:25 AMa month ago

Miguel Ängel López (Movistar)

'Superman' López arrives to this Vuelta a España as the main leader of Movistar Team, together with Enric Mas, where both will try to make the Spanish team the favorite again to win the main races of the calendar.
3:20 AMa month ago

Egan Barnal (Ineos Grenadiers)

The cyclist who has just become champion of the Giro d'Italia 2021, arrives as leader of Team Ineos Grenadiers, along with the Ecuadorian Richard Carapaz, who has just won the gold medal at the Olympic Games. The beetle seeks to achieve the triple crown.
3:15 AMa month ago

Stages of the race

Stage 1: Burgos > Burgos (CRI) - 7.1 Km

Stage 2: Caleruega > Burgos - 166.7 Km

Stage 3: Santo Domingo de Silos > Espinosa de los Monteros - 202.8 Km

Stage 4: El Burgo de Osma > Molina de Aragón - 163.9 Km

Stage 5: Tarancón > Albacete - 184.4 Km

Stage 6: Requena > Cullera - 160.6 Km

Stage 7: Gandía > Balcón de Alicante - 152 Km

Stage 8: Santa Pola > La Manga del Mar Menor - 173.7 Km

Stage 9: Puerto Lumbreras > Alto de Velefique - 188 Km

Stage 10: Roquetas de Mar > Rincón de la Victoria - 189 Km

Stage 11: Antequera > Valdepeñas de Jaén - 133.6 Km

Stage 12: Jaén > Córdoba - 175 Km

Stage 13: Belmez > Villanueva de la Serena - 203.7 Km

Stage 14: Don Benito > Pico Villuercas - 165.7 Km

Stage 15: Navalmoral de la Mata > El Barraco - 197.5 Km

Stage 16: Laredo > Santa Cruz de Bezana - 180 Km

Stage 17: Unquera > Lagos de Covadonga - 185.8 Km

Stage 18: Salas > Alto del Gamoniteiro - 162.6 Km

Stage 19: Tapia de Casariego > Monforte de Lemos - 191.2 Km

Stage 20: Sangenjo > Mos - 202.2 Km

Stage 21: Padrón > Santiago de Compostela (CRI) - 33.8 Km

3:10 AMa month ago

Last five champions

2016: Nairo Quintana (Colombia)

2017: Chris Froome (Great Britain)

2018: Simon Yates (Great Britain)

2019: Primož Roglič (Slovenia)

2020: Primož Roglič (Slovenia)

3:05 AMa month ago

Current champion

Slovenian Primož Roglič was the winner of the 2020 edition of La Vuelta by a difference of 24 seconds over Ecuador's Richard Carapaz.
3:00 AMa month ago


Hello! Welcome to VAVEL.com's coverage of stage 1 (Prologue) of La Vuelta 2021, which will be held in the city of Burgos.

My name is Jhonatan Martínez and I will be your host for this stage. We will offer you previous analysis, updates and live news here on VAVEL.