Rookie Dillon takes pole for the Kansas Lottery 300

Nationwide Series rookie Ty Dillon in the Bass Pro Shops #3 will start Saturday night's Kansas Lottery 300 on the pole after going quickest in Saturday's qualifying session on the 1.5 mile speedway.

Ryan Blaney in the #22 will start beside him on the front row, as points elder and fellow rookie Chase Elliott struggled and could only get to a 12th place start in the Napa #9 car.

The qualifying session at Kansas Speedway began with a group of nine drivers, headed by Brian Scott in the #2, going out to make their first run. Scott was the quickest of those drivers positing a 29.638 second lap to go P1 after five minutes as Ty Dillon, Chris Buescher, Paul Menard, and Ryan Blaney made up the top five.

A total of five drivers are doing double duty this weekend and three of them, Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, and Matt Kenseth are in the Chase in the Sprint Cup Series.

A good first run for John Wes Townley in the #25 after seven minutes put him into 7th on the board with a 29.830. At the half way mark in the first round Scott, Dillon, C.Buescher, Menard, and rookie Dakoda Armstrong made up the top five, as Matt Dibenedetto in the #40 was on the bubble in 24th.

With 13 minutes to go Busch in the #54 made his first run and put himself into 5th after having to take the Camry through inspection twice before he could make a lap around the track.

With just ten minutes to go in the first round there was no change in the top five but now David Starr in the #44 was on the bubble in 24th position as 42 of the 43 drivers present had made a run.

Three minutes were left when Jeremy Clements in the #51 was on the bubble in 24th. Corey Lajoie in the #98, a back-up car after his crash in practice yesterday, put himself in 25th on his second run out with two minutes left. Starr was back into the top 24 with one minute remaining when he posted a 30.427 second lap to knock Clements out.

When the clock expired on the first round Morgan Shepherd in the #89, Tanner Berryhill in the #17, and Craig Ellis in the #46 were the three drivers who failed to make the race tonight. But Milka Duno in the #29 and Jennifer Jo Cobb in the #87 both made the grid for a Nationwide race for the first time.

Round two of three began again with Scott in the #2 being the first driver on track, but he was not the fastest with a 29.550 as Ty Dillon in the #3 was top after the first set of drivers with a 29.420.

The red flag was displayed with just two minutes gone when Townley in the #25 got loose off turn two and hit the wall hard meaning he will have to start the race tonight in a back-up car.

There was a short five minute break before the green flag came out, but almost immediately there was red flag number two when championship contender Regan Smith in the #7 got loose off turn two and crushed the back end of the car. Smith will be another driver who will have to drop to the rear for the start of the race as he will have to get into a back-up car.

The green flag was displayed once again after a short break and with five minutes to go in round two Dillon, Busch, Buescher, Harvick, and Menard made up the top five with Kenseth in the #20 on the bubble.

Points leader Chase Elliott in the #9 put himself into round three with two minutes left in 11th to put Brendan Gaughan in the #52 on the bubble. Inside the last minute there was a dash to the track for drivers just outside the top 12 but none of them could advance their position, including Kenseth who missed out by 0.03 seconds to Gaughan.

The top 12 who made it to round three were: Dillon, Busch, C.Buescher, Harvick, Menard, Sadler, Scott, Bayne, Blaney, Larson, Elliott, and Gaughan.

The third and final five minute round began with some strategy as Scott in the #2 held back to allow C.Buescher to be the first driver out onto the track.

After the first set of drivers, Dillon in the #3 was top of the board with a near track record time of 29.372 seconds as Blaney in the #22 was 2nd on the chart. Points leader Elliott made his run with two minutes left and could only manage to be 12th quickest as Gaughan in the #52 went to 10th at the same point.

As the clock expired on qualifying for the Nationwide drivers it was Dillon who took the Coors Light Pole Award as he will start on the front row with Blaney. Harvick managed 4th, Busch in 6th, Menard in 8th and Larson in 9th were where four of the five Sprint Cup Series drivers will start Saturday's race.