Jill Ellis Announces Final Victory Tour Squad
Brandon Farris - VAVEL USA

The United States Women’s national team (USWNT) has four “Victory Tour” matches left this calendar year. They have already played six of those matches and have a record of 5-0-1 (win-loss-tie) in those six matches. Jill Ellis has announced her squad ahead of the last four matches that will take place in December.

The USWNT will take on Trinidad & Tobago on December 6th at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, HI and again on December 10th in San Antonio, TX at the Alamodome. The final two matches will take place against China PR on December 13th at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, AZ and December 16th at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, LA.

Since the USWNT won the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup back on July 5th, 2015, three players have retired from professional soccer. Lauren Holiday, Shannon Boxx and Lori Chalupny all played their final matches in October.

The match on December 16th will be the final professional match for Abby Wambach. She is retiring as the all-time leading international scorer in the world. She currently has 184 goals in 252 caps with the United States.

Ellis had this to say about the final four “Victory Tour” matches; “It has been a fantastic and thrilling year and we are looking forward to ending it on a high note, and especially honoring Abby and her legendary career in New Orleans. T&T and China are very competitive teams and once again we’ll look to these games to continue the process of preparing for Olympic Qualifying, especially now that we know our path during the qualifying tournament in February.”

Here is the squad that Ellis has called:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)

DEFENDERS (10): Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit), Whitney Engen (Boston Breakers), Jaelene Hinkle (Western NY Flash), Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns FC), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Kelley O’Hara (Sky Blue FC), Christie Rampone (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City), Emily Sonnett (Univ. of Virginia)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Morgan Brian (Houston Dash), Danielle Colaprico (Chicago Red Stars), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Rose Lavelle (Wisconsin), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Samantha Mewis (Western NY Flash), Heather O’Reilly (FC Kansas City), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC)

FORWARDS (7): Lindsey Horan (PSG), Sydney Leroux (Western NY Flash), Stephanie McCaffrey (Boston Breakers), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Amy Rodriguez (FC Kansas City), Abby Wambach (unattached)

As you can see, there are a few players that are getting there first call up to the national team. Chicago Red Stars Danielle Colaprico and Rose Lavelle from the University of Wisconsin will be hoping to see some action. No real surprises in the players that were called up.