Goal and Highlights: Liverpool 1-0 Mainz in Friendly Game
Image: VAVEL

ADVERTISEMENT

2:15 PM2 months ago

Highlights

2:10 PM2 months ago

Thanks!

Thank you for following the VAVEL coverage of the game between Liverpool and Mainz 05. See you next time.
2:10 PM2 months ago

Much room for improvement

Both clubs are just loosening up their legs and will have a lot of room for improvement, although both gave the youngsters a chance to participate.
2:09 PM2 months ago

End game

Nothing more was added and thanks to an own goal, Liverpool defeated Mainza 05 by the minimum.
2:08 PM2 months ago

Goal Liverpool 1-0

2:06 PM2 months ago

87'

Mainz's free kick went just wide and the equalizer was close.
2:04 PM2 months ago

86'

Liverpool goal

Stefan Bell deflects the ball into his own net to open the scoring.

1:59 PM2 months ago

80'

Jerry St. Juste's free kick goes over the top of the goal.
1:55 PM2 months ago

76'

Hack with the first-time shot that Adrián rejects upwards.
1:51 PM2 months ago

73'

A cross shot inside the six-yard box is controlled by Liverpool goalkeeper Adrian without bouncing.
1:50 PM2 months ago

70'

Alexander Hack's first-time shot was just wide of the goalkeeper's goal.
1:45 PM2 months ago

67'

Time for rehydration in the second half for Liverpool and Mainz.
1:40 PM2 months ago

62'

Stefan Bell's header from a corner kick goes over the top of the goal.
1:35 PM2 months ago

56'

Direct free kick by Kevin Stöger, Mainz, hits the outside of the net.
1:34 PM2 months ago

54'

Many changes in both teams and the game has become less intense, although these changes have favored Mainz, which has retained more of the ball and played in the enemy's half.
1:25 PM2 months ago

47'

The first shot of the second half is taken by Mainz's Niklas Tauer, but it goes wide.
1:23 PM2 months ago

56'

Second half kicks off between Liverpool and Mainz.
1:06 PM2 months ago

Half time

Liverpool 0-0 Mainz 05.
1:01 PM2 months ago

41'

Mané with a mid-range shot that is blocked by the defenders inside their own area.
1:00 PM2 months ago

40'

Chamberlain looked for the far post, but a deflection off the keeper prevented the first of the afternoon.
12:58 PM2 months ago

38'

Mané's cross to the far post that Salah fails to reach.
12:57 PM2 months ago

37'

Alexander Arnold's free kick goes over the opponent's goal.
12:53 PM2 months ago

33'

Harvey Elliott with the flash that goes all the way across the area, but the goal still doesn't come.
12:52 PM2 months ago

32'

Mané exerted pressure inside the box and after a rebound the ball came close to sneaking into the opponent's goal.
12:43 PM2 months ago

22'

The match is stopped for rehydration of both teams.
12:41 PM2 months ago

20'

Daniel Brosinski with a shot inside the box that went just wide of the goalkeeper.
12:41 PM2 months ago

20'

Robin Zentner's cross from a corner kick was fisted away by Robin Zentner.
12:37 PM2 months ago

16'

Moussa Niakhate's first-time shot from a set piece went over the bar.
12:32 PM2 months ago

11'

Corner kick in favor of Liverpool that the defense rejects without much trouble.
12:27 PM2 months ago

6'

Chamberlain came close to scoring from a corner kick that reached the far post but the defense was alert to clear it.
12:24 PM2 months ago

4'

Liverpool tried harder in the opening minutes, but so far lacked clarity.
12:20 PM2 months ago

0'

Liverpool vs Mainz 05 kick-off.
12:17 PM2 months ago

They jump into the field

At this moment Liverpool and Mainz 05 take the field for the friendly game.
12:09 PM2 months ago

Minutes away

The match between Mainz and Liverpool is just minutes away. Do not miss the minute by minute that we will be carrying through VAVEL.
12:07 PM2 months ago

Liverpool Substitutes

 13 Adrián

 18 Takumi Minamino

 22 Loris Karius

 27 Divock Origi

 17 Curtis Jones

 20 Diogo Jota

 84 Conor Bradley

 47 Nathaniel Phillips

 76 Neco Williams

 64 Jake Cain

 65 Leighton Clarkson

 63 Owen Beck

 89 Billy Koumetio

 92 Tyler Morton

 99 Kaide Gordon

 53 Harvey Davies

12:00 PM2 months ago

There is a good atmosphere

Prior to the warm-up, Mainz has a very good atmosphere in the dressing room with the aim of arriving as well as possible for the start of the Bundesliga season.
11:59 AM2 months ago

The arrival of Mainz

11:57 AM2 months ago

Already warming up

Sadio Mané, like the rest of the team, is already warming up for the start of the match against Mainz 05.

11:37 AM2 months ago

XI Mainz

This is Mainz's lineup to face Liverpool this Friday.

11:35 AM2 months ago

XI Liverpool

Kelleher, Alexander-Arnold, Konate, Matip, Tsimikas, Milner, Keita, Elliott, Mané, Salah, Chamberlain.
11:34 AM2 months ago

The stadium

This is the stadium where the action will be taking place for the friendly between Liverpool and Mainz.

11:30 AM2 months ago

Future rival

Liverpool will continue to hold several preparation matches over the next few days and their future opponents will be Hertha Berlin, Athletic Bilbao and Osasuna.
11:25 AM2 months ago

Second match

This will be the second friendly match for Liverpool this week after they faced a Stuttgart youth team last Tuesday with whom they drew.
11:20 AM2 months ago

Start

Liverpool returns to the field and this time it will be in Austria when they take on Mainz 05. We begin with coverage of the friendly match.
11:15 AM2 months ago

Tune in here Liverpool vs Mainz Live Score

Do not miss a detail of the match with the live updates and commentaries of VAVEL. Follow along with us all the details, commentaries, analysis and lineups for this Liverpool vs Mainz match.
11:10 AM2 months ago

What time is Liverpool vs Mainz match for Friendly Game?

This is the start time of the game Liverpool vs Mainz of 23rd July in several countries:

Argentina: 1:15 PM

Bolivia: 12:15 PM

Brazil: 1:15 PM

Chile: 1:15 PM

Colombia: 11:15 AM

Ecuador: 11:15 AM

USA (ET): 12:15 PM.

Spain: 6:15 PM

Mexico: 11:15 AM.

Paraguay: 1:15 PM

Peru: 11:15 AM

Uruguay: 1:15 PM

11:05 AM2 months ago

Last games

The two teams have met only a few times in history, the last game being on August 7, 2016, also in a warm-up game where the German team surprised by scoring 4-0 and, therefore, winning the match.
11:00 AM2 months ago

Key player Mainz

Stefan Bell is one of the leaders at the back and is expected to be key in the start of the Bundesliga for Mainz to quickly get away from relegation problems.

10:55 AM2 months ago

Key player Liverpool

Sadio Mané has started to get minutes and it is expected that as the preseason progresses he will be getting a good level of play to be in tune for the start of the league.

10:50 AM2 months ago

Upcoming matches

After this match, Liverpool will face Hertha Berlin, Athletic Bilbao and Osasuna.
10:45 AM2 months ago

Reinforcements

Liverpool have brought in a number of players for next season, with the aim of winning the Premier League again and unseating Manchester City: Sheyi Ojo, Loris Karius, Taiwo Awoniyi, Ibrahima Konaté, Harry Wilson, Takumi Minamino, Ibrahima Konaté and Takumi Minamino.
10:40 AM2 months ago

They are ruled out

The German tactician expressed that Virgil van Dijk or Joe Gomez are doing well with the preseason work, but he definitely ruled them out for this engagement.

"It would be a surprise for me as well. They have looked very good in training and yesterday was the first day where they did very complex things, usually it's offense or defense and things like that. We have to get there, step by step, but I don't expect them for Friday," he indicated.

10:35 AM2 months ago

Much to improve

Jurgen Klopp, Liverpool coach, commented that after the one-goal draw in their first friendly against Wacker Innsbruck there is still much to improve with the "Reds", but he takes a good taste in his mouth.

"It was a training session and it was good. Physically it was everything we wanted to see, we had to do it and it was an important test for that. From a soccer standpoint, obviously there's a lot of room for improvement; I saw a lot of wild press. We wanted a wild press, we had a little competition between the two teams to see who gets the ball back the most and how many counter presses we have. We'll have to think about the prize the team will win!", he expressed.

10:30 AM2 months ago

Kick-off time

The Liverpool vs Mainz match will be played at the Untersberg Arena Stadium, in Grodig, Austria. The kick-off is scheduled at 12:15 pm ET.
10:25 AM2 months ago

Welcome to VAVEL.com’s LIVE coverage of the 2021 Friendly Game: Liverpool vs Mainz!

My name is Adrian Hernandez and I will be your host for this game. We will provide you with pre-game analysis, roster updates, and news as it happens live here on VAVEL.
VAVEL Logo