Goals and Highlights: Lyon 3-0 Brøndby in UEFA Europa League
Lofti Dakhli/OL

ADVERTISEMENT

2:56 PM17 days ago

Live ended

Thanks for the company and see you later.
2:55 PM17 days ago

Highlights

2:45 PM17 days ago

Next round UEFA Europa League

Rangers vs Brøndby - Ibrox Stadium, in Glasgow, Scotland.

Sparta Praha vs Lyon - Generali Česká Pojišťovna Arena, in Praha, Czechia.

- Both matches will be played at 3 PM ET on October 21, 2021.

2:42 PM17 days ago

Standings Group A

  1. Lyon - 6
  2. Sparta Praha - 4
  3. Brøndby - 1
  4. Rangers - 0
2:41 PM17 days ago

Group A - Matchday 2

Lyon 3-0 Brøndby

Sparta Praha 1-0 Rangers

2:37 PM17 days ago

Full time

End of the match.
2:37 PM17 days ago

Misses the target

90+2' Frendrup takes a shot from the edge of the box and misses over the goal.
2:37 PM17 days ago

Additional time

90' Four minutes to go.
2:36 PM17 days ago

So close!

88' Borkeeiet takes a corner kick from the edge of the box and shoots. The ball is too close to the crossbar. The Danish club almost make their mark.
2:33 PM17 days ago

GOAL! LYON!

85' Toko Ekambi goes forward on the right and crosses into the area. Aouar dives clear and heads in a powerful header to seal the victory for Lyon.
2:33 PM17 days ago

Brøndby substitution

83' Radošević out, Borkeeiet in.
2:33 PM17 days ago

Lyon substitution

82' Lucas Paquetá out, Habib Keïta in.
2:32 PM17 days ago

Lyon substitution

82' Caqueret out, Kadewere in.
2:32 PM17 days ago

Lyon substitution

82' Léo Dubois out, Malo Gusto in.
2:31 PM17 days ago

Lyon keep the pressure on

80' Emerson Palmieri gets on the end of Toko Ekambi's low cross. Aouar gets in the way, the ball stays alive in the box, spins, and flicks it over the goal.
2:31 PM17 days ago

Brøndby substitution

73' Hedlund out, Cappis in.
2:30 PM17 days ago

Post

72' Almost the third after the restart. Aouar is free in the middle of the pitch, makes space on the halfway line, and shoots hard. The ball curves around the post.
2:30 PM17 days ago

GOAL! LYON!

70' Thiago Mendes makes a long throw from the defense to Cherki on the right. The striker goes forward to the back line and crosses. Hermansen sprawls, and Toko-Ekambi is free to complete the rebound and extend the Lyon lead.
2:30 PM17 days ago

Off

68' Aouar takes a corner from the right and Damien da Silva heads the ball away.
2:30 PM17 days ago

Lyon on the attack

67' In his first appearance in the game, Cherki receives in the area and finishes with his left foot. The ball deflects off Rosted and Hermansen scrambles to make the save.
2:10 PM17 days ago

Lyon substitution

65' Shaqiri out, Cherki in.
2:09 PM17 days ago

GOAL! LYON!

63' Thiago Mendes receives the ball from Emerson Palmieri and crosses at the second post. Lucas Paquetá diverts the header and Toko Ekambi completes the goal.
2:07 PM17 days ago

Brøndby substitution

62' Greve out, Slimane in.
2:07 PM17 days ago

Brøndby substitution

62' Heggheim out, Tshiembe in.
2:06 PM17 days ago

Brøndby substitution

62' Gammelby out, Mensah in.
2:05 PM17 days ago

Brøndby's first arrival in the second half

60' Shaqiri is backing away badly, Pavlović has the ball, but his shot is wide of the post.
2:01 PM17 days ago

Over the goal

59' Thiago Mendes takes a free kick from close to the edge of the box and sends it over the goal.
1:58 PM17 days ago

What is this?

52' Aouar receives the ball from Lucas Paquetá on the left side of the penalty area and sends it wide of the goal.
1:57 PM17 days ago

Out

51' Lucas Paquetá is triggered in the midfield, turns even with the strong marking of Maxsø and sends it out.
1:50 PM17 days ago

Missed the target

48' Thiago Mendes shoots a cross from the edge of the area and the ball goes out the back line.
1:49 PM17 days ago

Restart

The second half is under way.
1:49 PM17 days ago

Return

Athletes are back on the field.
1:31 PM17 days ago

Halftime

End of the first half.
1:31 PM17 days ago

Off

43' Léo Dubois crosses from the right and Lucas Paquetá heads the ball away.
1:29 PM17 days ago

Oh no, Shaqiri

42' Toko-Ekambi brings the ball up the middle and makes the pass. Lucas Paquetá lets go and Shaqiri isolates.
1:29 PM17 days ago

Hermansen makes the save

39' Shaqiri takes a free kick from the centre circle and Hermansen comes out of his goal to make the save.
1:26 PM17 days ago

Double save

37' Shaqiri takes a low corner from the right wing and Thiago Mendes lightly touches the ball to the far post. Hermansen makes a double save.
1:26 PM17 days ago

Class

36' Toko-Ekambi participates in a counterattack after Caqueret's long throw-in. The striker is on the left, enters the box and lifts the ball to Lucas Paquetá. The pass is high and empty, but Hedlund gets his chest back to Hermansen.
1:20 PM17 days ago

Yellow card

34' Caqueret, Lyon midfielder. Hedlund is fouled.
1:19 PM17 days ago

Over the goal

31' Fast forward for Lyon. Aouar opens the scoring with Shaqiri on the right side of the box, and the midfielder angles his shot over the goal.
1:18 PM17 days ago

Hermansen saves

28' Shaqiri crosses from the right, Bruus makes a partial cut and Thiago Mendes saves with a first-time pass. Hermansen makes the save in two times.
1:15 PM17 days ago

Post

27' Lucas Paquetá tables with Shaqiri and shoots from the edge of the area. The ball hits the post and Hermansen's calf, and the goalkeeper is able to save.
1:13 PM17 days ago

Off

21' Shaqiri takes a corner from the left, Emerson crosses low and the Brøndby defense makes a partial cut. Damien da Silva has the ball, turns and shoots, but misses the target.
1:13 PM17 days ago

Lyon keep the pressure on

20' Aouar sets up Lucas Paquetá, wins a challenge on Heggheim in the box and shoots, but goalkeeper Hermansen blocks.
1:12 PM17 days ago

No deflection

18' Shaqiri receives a cross from Léo Dubois on the right wing, but neither Lucas Paquetá nor Toko-Ekambi can clear in time.
1:12 PM17 days ago

Off

15' Pavlović is free on the right side of the pitch, enters the box and hits a cross. The ball goes over the line and the referee claims offside.
1:12 PM17 days ago

High cross

13' Léo Dubois crosses from the right, Lucas Paquetá rises and tries to deflect it, but only sticks to the ball.
1:12 PM17 days ago

Hermansen makes the save

11' Toko-Ekambi receives a pass from Shaqiri on the right side of the penalty area, cuts in on Heggheim and finishes to Hermansen's left.
1:11 PM17 days ago

Trapped

10' Aouar receives Lucas Paquetá in the middle of the box and shoots, but Heggheim stops. Paquetá tries to get the ball away, but the Brøndby defense gets it away.
1:11 PM17 days ago

Brøndby reply

9' Bruus is set up by Radošević's long throw-in from the middle, he runs free down the right, gets into the box and shoots at the outside of the net.
1:11 PM17 days ago

So close

8' Shaqiri is picked out in the box by Thiago Mendes and finishes low, but the ball goes near Hermansen's left post.
1:11 PM17 days ago

Yellow card

5' Emerson Palmieri, Lyon left-back. Hedlund is fouled.
12:47 PM17 days ago

Start

The match begins.
12:44 PM17 days ago

Are you ready?

The ball will roll in a few moments.
12:44 PM17 days ago

Uniforms

Lyon - all white

Brøndby - yellow shirt, blue short and blue socks

12:42 PM17 days ago

Enter

Referees and players of both teams are on the pitch.
12:29 PM17 days ago

Warm-up

Players of both teams are on the pitch for the final warm-up.
12:24 PM17 days ago

All ready

12:19 PM17 days ago

Referees

Referee - Harald Lechner (AUT)

Assistant referees - Andreas Heidenreich (AUT) and Maximilian Kolbitsch (AUT)

Fourth official - Markus Hameter (AUT)

VAR - Harm Osmers (GER)

AVAR - Mete Kalkavan (TUR)

12:14 PM17 days ago

Brøndby substitutes

Mikkelsen, Tshiembe; Lumb, Cappis, Mensah, Ben Slimane, Borkeeiet, Andersen, Divković, Fallenius, Kvistgaarden, Singh.

HC - Niels Friedriksen.

12:09 PM17 days ago

Lyon substitutes

Pollersbeck, Malcolm Barcola; Malo Gusto, Hernrique, Lukeba, Bruno Guimarães, Cherki, Keïta, Kadewere, Bradley Barcola.

HC - Peter Bosz.

12:04 PM17 days ago

Brøndby line-up

Hermansen; Heggheim, Maxsø, Rosted; Bruus, Frendrup, Radošević, Gammelby; Greve, Pavlović, Hedlund.

HC - Niels Frederiksen.

11:59 AM17 days ago

Lyon line-up

Lopes; Dubois, da Silva, Diomandé, Emerson; Caqueret, Mendes; Shaqiri, Paquetá, Aouar; Toko-Ekambi.

HC - Peter Bosz.

11:54 AM17 days ago

Squads

11:49 AM17 days ago

Tune in Lyon vs Brøndby Live Score

Don’t miss a detail of the match Lyon vs Brøndby live updates and commentaries of VAVEL.
11:44 AM17 days ago

How to watch Lyon vs Brøndby Live Stream on TV and online?

The match between Lyon vs Brøndby will not be broadcast live on TV channels.

If you want to directly stream it, your options are: TUDN.com, TUDNXtra, TUDNApp and Paramount+.

If you want to watch it on internet, VAVEL USA is your best option.

11:39 AM17 days ago

What time is Lyon vs Brøndby match for 2021-22 Uefa Europa League?

This is the start time of the game Lyon vs Brøndby in several countries.

Argentina – 1:45 PM in Star+.

Bolivia – 12:45 PM in Star+.

Brazil – 1:45 PM in Fox Sports.

Canada – 1:45 PM AT, 12:45 PM ET, 11:45 AM CT, 10:45 AM MT, 9:45 AM PT in DAZN.

Chile – 1:45 PM in Star+.

Colombia – 11:45 AM in Star+.

Denmark – 6:45 PM in TV2 Sport X.

Ecuador – 11:45 AM in Star+.

France – 6:45 PM in RMC Sport 1.

Mexico – 11:45 AM CT, 10:45 AM MT, 9:45 AM PT in ESPN Play Norte.

Paraguay – 12:45 PM in Star+.

Peru – 11:45 AM in Star+.

United States – 12:45 PM ET, 11:45 AM CT, 10:45 AM MT, 9:45 AM PT in Paramount+ and TUDN.com.

Uruguay – 1:45 PM in Star+.

Venezuela – 12:45 PM in Star+.

11:34 AM17 days ago

Brøndby's form guide

- Brøndby won the Danish Superliga in 2020-21, claiming their first league title since 2014-15 and their 11th at all. They didn’t compete in Europe last season – their first workout continental involvement since 2013-14.

- That Danish title win earned Brøndby a place in this season’s UEFA Champions League playoffs, but they were defeated 2-1 in both games by Salzburg and are therefore competing in the UEFA Europa League group stage for the first time, becoming the sixth different Danish participants. It’s Brøndby’s first involvement in any European group stage since the 2005-06 UEFA Cup, in which they picked up four points from their four matches and failed to qualify for the knockout phase.

- Brøndby are on a run of five successive away defeats in UEFA competition, with just one win in their last ten, 2-0 at Spartak Subotica in the 2018-19 UEFA Europa League third qualifying round, the other nine having all been lost.

11:29 AM17 days ago

Lyon's form guide

- Lyon finished the 2020-21 Ligue 1 campaign in fourth place, seven points behind champions LOSC Lille, to return to European competition after a rare season’s absence as direct qualifiers for the UEFA Europa League group stage. In their most recent continental campaign, they reached the semifinals of the 2019-20 UEFA Champions League.

- Lyon have won more matches in the UEFA Europa League than any other French club with 22 wins, scoring more goals (72 goals) and were semifinalists in 2016-17 having also reached the last eight in 2013-14. This is their fourth appearance in the group stage, from which they have progressed to the round of 32 on each occasion, twice as group winners, in 2012-13 and 2013-14. Their last appearance was on 2017-18 and they were runners-up in Group E to Atalanta with 11 points, eventually going out on away goals in the round of 16 to CSKA Moskva.

- That defeat by CSKA was the last time Lyon lost at home in a European fixture, although six of the eight games since have been drawn. They have never lost at home in the group stage of the UEFA Europa League, winning seven of their nine matches, with only Vitória de Guimarães and Atalanta denied than victory (both 1-1 draws).

11:24 AM17 days ago

Match background and previous meetings

- Lyon are the early pacesetters in Group A and will be looking to maintain their unbeaten home record in the UEFA Europa League group stage as they entertain Danish champions Brøndby.

- Lyon got off to a bright start in the section with a 2-0 win away to Rangers on Matchday 1. Karl Toko-Ekambi’s fine 23rd-minute strike supplemented by a second-half own goal, while Brøndby had to settle for a scoreless draw at home to Sparta Praha on their UEFA Europa League group stage debut.

- In the teams’ only previous UEFA engagement Lyon won both games in the 1997-98 UEFA Cup first round, 4-1 at home and 3-2 away.

- That was one of only two pairings that Lyon have had with Danish opposition. The other, in the 1963-64 European Cup Winners’ Cup preliminary round, also yielding two wins, 3-1 at home and away against Odense.

- Brøndby have also faced only one other French opponent, going down 4-1 on aggregate to Marseille in the 1989-90 European Cup first round.

11:19 AM17 days ago

Brøndby's players for the 2021-22 UEFA Europa League

Goalkeepers – Thomas Mikkelsen, Mads Hermansen, Jonathan Ægidius, Lucas Jensen.

Defenders – Jens Martin Gammelby, Henrik Heggheim, Sigurd Rosted, Andreas Maxsø, Michael Lumb, Blas Riveros, Kevin Tshiembe, Anton Hendriksen; Tobias Børkeeiet.

Midfielders – Mathias Greve, Kevin Mensah, Morten Frendrup, Josip Radošević, Christian Cappis, Anis Ben Slimane, Simon Hedlund, Peter Bjur, Andreas Pyndt.

Forwards – Andrija Pavlović, Mikael Uhre, Andreas Bruus, Oskar Fallenius, Marko Divković, Jagvir Singh, Mathias Kvistgaarden.

Head coach – Niels Frederiksen.

11:14 AM17 days ago

Lyon's players for the 2021-22 UEFA Europa League

Goalkeepers – Anthony Lopes, Malcolm Barcola, Julian Pollersbeck, Kayne Bonnevie, Justin Bengui João.

Defenders – Sinaly Diomandé, Emerson Palmieri, Castello Lukeba, Jason Denayer, Marcelo, Henrique, Léo Dubois, Malo Gusto, Damien da Silva, Jérôme Boateng, Celestino Iala, Abdoulaye Ndiaye.

Midfielders – Houssem Aouar, Lucas Paquetá, Habib Keïta, Thiago Mendes, Maxence Caqueret, Florent da Silva, Xherdan Shaqiri, Titouan Thomas, Mohamed El Arouch, Bruno Guimarães, Samuel Bessolo, Cédric Augarreau, Djibrail Dib.

Forwards – Karl Toko-Ekambi, Moussa Dembélé, Tinotenda Kadewere, Rayan Cherki, Islam Slimani, Jeff Reine-Adélaïde, Lenny Pintor, Eli Wissa, Bradley Barcola, Reo Griffiths, Sekou Lega.

Head coach – Peter Bosz.

11:09 AM17 days ago

The match will be played on Groupama Stadium

The Lyon vs Brøndby match will be played at the Groupama Stadium, in Décines-Charpieu, in the Lyon Metropolis, France. The sports venue has the capacity to receive 59,186 fans.
11:04 AM17 days ago

Welcome to the VAVEL.com's coverage of the 2021-22 UEFA Europa League match: Lyon vs Brøndby Live Updates!

My name is Tainan Melo and I’ll be your host for this game. We’ll provide you with pre-game analysis, score updates, and news as it happens live here on VAVEL.
VAVEL Logo