Roger Federer Offered Vienna Open Wildcard After Early Shanghai Exit

Roger Federer Offered Vienna Open Wildcard After Early Shanghai Exit

After his early exit, Roger Federer has been offered a wildcard to the Vienna Open, the first ATP 500 event of the European indoor swing, by tournament director Herwig Straka.

Noel John Alberto

After Roger Federer’s shock loss at the Shanghai Rolex Masters to Albert Ramos-Vinolas, the Erste Bank Open (commonly known as the Vienna Open) has come out and stated that they are willing to offer the world number three a wildcard to the event. The event is set to be played this upcoming week in Vienna and is one of three events officially kicking off the final swing of the year, the European indoor swing. Also, the event is an ATP 500 event, making it even more intriguing for Federer should he decide to take the wildcard.

Trying To Get The Big Guns

Every year, the tournament is trying to get a top four player to the event. As a newly cemented ATP 500 event, it is vital that some of the top guys come to the event, especially if they choose to skip out on the Swiss Indoors in Basel. Tournament director Herwig Straka said this about getting top players to the event, “...our declared goal for every year is, to bring a tennis star from the top four to Vienna. Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Andy Murray and Rafael Nadal all belong to the top 4”. He also said that he would contact and negotiate with Federer’s management team to see if the 17-time Grand Slam champion is interested.

The Vienna Field

As of now, defending champion Andy Murray is not confirmed into the Vienna Open field. However, the field is still a very strong one with David Ferrer as the top player confirmed to go there. Big-servers John Isner, Milos Raonic, Ivo Karlovic, and Kevin Anderson will also be participating. Frenchman Gael Monfils and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga cap off the big guns who will be there. Home favorite Dominic Thiem will be making an appearance hoping to become the first Austrian to take the title since Jurgen Melzer won it back in 2010.