WTA Finals: Halep And Sharapova Placed In Same Group; Doubles Groups Wide Open After Draw

WTA Finals: Halep And Sharapova Placed In Same Group; Doubles Groups Wide Open After Draw

The official draw for the WTA finals has been completed with some surprises in both the singles and doubles draws.

Noel John Alberto

The draw for the WTA Finals has been set on both the singles and doubles side. With the prestigious final event of the WTA season set to start this weekend, the women and teams were placed into two groups of four where each woman or pairing will play each other in a round-robin format. The two women with the best records or best scores in tiebreaker scenarios (win-loss record in sets is the first tiebreaker and win-loss record in games is the second tiebreaker) will advance to the four woman/team semifinals. Without much further ado, here are the groups for the WTA Finals.


The red group is comprised up of Simona Halep, Maria Sharapova, Agnieszka Radwanska, and Flavia Pennetta. Pennetta is the only woman in the group who has won a Grand Slam title in 2015, winning the US Open. Halep came in as the number one qualifier thanks to Serena Williams’ withdrawal. Radwanska is one of the hottest players on tour winning two titles in Asia at the Toray Pan Pacific Open and the Tianjin Open.

The white group is comprised of Garbine Muguruza, Petra Kvitova, Angelique Kerber, and Lucie Safarova. Kerber and Safarova both clinched their spots to the Finals just this week, along with Pennetta. Muguruza and Kerber have been playing solidly throughout the recent Asian swing and are two of the hottest players on tour along with Radwanska. Kvitova has fallen off a bit since her diagnosis with mono, but her power play may make her one of the favorites in this group.


The team of SanTina (Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis) lead the red group. The team of Timea Babos and Kristina Mladenovic are also here. The original final qualifiers Raquel Kops-Jones and Abigail Spears are the third team in the group and join alternates Andrea Hlavackova and Lucie Hradecka who replaced the Russian duo of Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina. The team of Mirza and Hingis have dominated the year winning two Grand Slam titles, two Premier Mandatories and a Premier 5.

The white group is led off by the team of Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Lucie Safarova. Caroline Garcia and Katarina Srebotnik were the second team drawn in the group. The group finishes off with the Chan sisters and the all-Spanish team of Garbine Muguruza and Carla Suarez Navarro. Mattek-Sands and Safarova took home the first two Grand Slam titles of the year (Australian Open and French Open) and also won the Rogers Cup. This group has three women who will be playing or have played singles in Singapore. Garcia has already played in the Rising Stars Invitational while Muguruza and Safarova qualified for singles. That number can increase to four if Carla Suarez Navarro, second alternate in singles behind Venus Williams, plays a match.