Martina Hingis And Sania Mirza Named 2015 WTA Doubles Team Of The Year

Martina Hingis And Sania Mirza Named 2015 WTA Doubles Team Of The Year

The team of SanTina dominated 2015, making major headlines as they rose to the top of the women's doubles game.

Noel John Alberto

Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis have been named the 2015 WTA Doubles Team of the Year. The team of SanTina, which first joined forces in Indian Wells, have reached new found heights this year in winning the final two Grand Slams of the year and the WTA Finals.

All in all, Hingis and Mirza are looking to make 2016 an even more dominant year as it is their first full season on tour together. Their Doubles Team of the Year title makes it the first time since 2012 that the Italian pair of Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci did not win.

To California And Beyond

Mirza began the year partnering with Su-Wei Hsieh as her partner. Their partnership saw a title in Sydney and a finals appearance in Doha before the Indian made the midseason switch. Once the team of SanTina was formed, there was no looking back. Right off the bat, the two clicked as they stormed their way to three straight titles at Indian Wells, Miami, and Charleston. In both Indian Wells and Miami, they defeated the second ranked team of Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina in the final.

It was quite the wait to see their drought end, nearly a three month wait in between titles, but it was well worth it in the end as the duo lifted their first Grand Slam title together at Wimbledon. The team went onto make it back-to-back major titles with their victory at the US Open.

After their US Open win, SanTina caught fire once again. They won titles in Guangzhou and Wuhan before they were off to Singapore for the WTA Finals. The team was dominant as they did not drop a single set en route to the title where they defeated Garbiñe Muguruza and Carla Suárez Navarro for the title. The team finished the year as the number one doubles team in the world.