Preview: Foxes turn attentions to T20 action in Liverpool

It's safe to say, it's been a difficult campaign for supporters and players of Leicestershire County Cricket Club.

The Foxes remain without a victory in Division Two of the Specsavers County Championship and defeat to Sussex has left them rooted to the foot of the table for the first time this season.

Sunday afternoon may be a welcome break from the championship for Leicestershire, with attentions solely on T20 action away to Lancashire. However, following a 52 run victory over the Durham Jets on Friday, Lancashire will pose a big threat.

The Foxes will need to be at the top of their game if they are going to kick start a tough campaign with two points in Liverpool.

Experienced signing

A major boost for the Foxes supporters is the signing of experienced wicket keeper Luke Ronchi. Within the T20 format, versatility is key and Ronchi will certainly provide that during his short spell with the club.

The challenges faced during the competition certainly won't faze the New Zealander whose experience will allow him to recognise the demands of T20 cricket. Adapting to this format won't be an issue for Ronchi following his performances at the top of the order for New Zealand during the ICC Champions Trophy last month in England and Wales. 

The Foxes have bolstered their ranks with wicket keeper Luke Ronchi | Photo: Getty/ Julian Finney
The Foxes have bolstered their ranks with wicket keeper Luke Ronchi | Photo: Getty/ Julian Finney

Difficult times in Leicestershire

The clash with an in form Lightning side will be the end of a tough week for the Foxes, with many members of the squad in the County Championship fixture with Sussex being named in the 14 - man squad for the T20 opener.

Like Ronchi, there are many members of the squad that are yet to represent the Foxes in T20 format. The fixture could see the likes of Colin Ackermann, Dietar Klein and Mathew Pillans making their Foxes debuts. They will be without Ben Raine (side) and Zak Chappell (groin).  The 14-man squads for the trip to Liverpool is as follows.

Foxes: McKay (Capt.), Aadil, Ackermann, Cosgrove, Delport, Eckersley, Griffiths, Hill, Klein, Parkinson, Pillans, Ronchi, Sayer, Wells.

Lightning: Croft (Capt.), Bailey, Buttler, Brown, Clark, Jarvis, Jones, Lamb, Lilley, Livingstone, McLaren, Parkinson, Parry, Vilas.