World T20: Recap of the 2010 tournament

The West Indies hosted the tournament six years ago, as England won in the final against Australia to win their first ever ICC event.

World T20: Recap of the 2010 tournament
Picture source:

The third edition of the World T20 tournament took place in 2010 in the West Indies, as 12 countries of which 10 were test playing nations plus 2 qualifiers played 27 matches between April 30th, 2010 and May 16th, 2010.

Afghanistan and Ireland qualify for the tournament

Before the tournament, we found out that the two qualifiers were Afghanistan and Ireland who met each other in the final of the qualification tournament. Afghanistan won the match against the Irish by eight wickets to give them the confidence to come into the tournament on a high. 

The twelve nations then were split into four different groups with the top two from each group going on to the Super Eights stage. Group A consisted of Pakistan, Bangladesh and Australia. Group B consisted of Sri Lanka, New Zealand and Zimbabwe. Group C consisted of South Africa, India and Afghanistan. Group D consisted of the hosts West Indies, England and Ireland.

Australia and India dominate the group stages, England sneak through

There were no surprises in terms of results in Group A with Australia topping the group by winning both of their games quite comfortably. Pakistan also made it through with their win against Bangladesh.

In Group B New Zealand topped the group by winning a close game against Sri Lanka by two wickets and they beat Zimbabwe by seven runs on the Duckworth and Lewis Method. Sri Lanka made it through in second place after defeating Zimbabwe by 14 runs therefore stopping the chance of shocks with the minnows going through.

In Group C there again weren't any surprises with India beating Afghanistan comfortably by seven wickets and defeating South Africa by 14 runs thanks in large to a brilliant hundred from Suresh Raina. South Africa went through in second place after beating Afghanistan by 59 runs. 

Group D saw the hosts West Indies qualify for the Super Eights in top position after beating Ireland by 70 runs and beating England by eight wickets due to the Duckworth and Lewis Method. England and Ireland had a winner qualifies match, but it ended in a no result and because England's Net Run Rate was better than Ireland's it was them that went through.

The teams then were split into two groups for the Super eights. Group E consisted of England, Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa. Group F consisted of Australia, Sri Lanka, West Indies and India.

England and Australia dominate their Super Eight groups

Group E saw England dominate the group by winning all three of their games. They defeated Pakistan in their first game of the group by six wickets, they then beat South Africa by 39 runs while beating New Zealand by three wickets in their final game. Pakistan qualified for the semi-finals in second place despite losing two of their three games. That win for Pakistan came against South Africa by eleven runs. South Africa and New Zealand each got two points but had a poorer net run-rate than Pakistan so they exited the competition. 

Australia dominated group F by winning all of their games. The Aussies beat India comfortably by 49 runs, defeated Sri Lanka by 81 runs and beat the hosts by six wickets. Sri Lanka went through in second place as they managed to win two of their three games. The Sri Lankans defeated the West Indies by 57 runs and India by five wickets. The hosts West Indies and India both exited the competition at this stage.

England and Australia set up final

The semi-final line-up was confirmed with England to play Sri Lanka and Australia to play Pakistan. The first semi-final saw England defeat the Sri Lankans quite easily as they won by seven wickets. Sri Lanka batted first, but they were restricted to 128 for 6 thanks to Stuart Broad taking two wickets and then Kevin Pietersen scored a quick fire forty-two to send England to the final.

The second semi-final was a much more competitive and fantastic match. The Aussies came out on top after a magnificent sixty from Michael Hussey from twenty-four balls. Pakistan made 191-6 when they batted first and it was seen as a very competitive score especially in a big game. Australia then would go onto the final to play England and were heavy favourites going into the game.

Craig Kieswetter innings wins England the T20 World Cup

The final saw Australia bat first and they made a decent score of 147/6. The score was mainly down to a half century from David Hussey and it was now down to see how England would handle the pressure of a chase in a big final. England made the score with ease to win the tournament chasing the score down with three overs to go. The main contributor in the final was opener Craig Kieswetter who made sixty-three off forty-nine balls. The winning runs were hit by skipper Paul Collingwood and for the first time ever England had won an ICC event and there were jubilant scenes at the end.

Kieswetter raises hit bat during his half century against Australia in the final | Photo: Getty Images
Kieswetter raises hit bat during his half century against Australia in the final | Photo: Getty Images