ICC World T20 semi final line-up confirmed

England are amongst the four teams that have officially progressed to the semi final stage.

ICC World T20 semi final line-up confirmed
The trophies that the men and women are competing for (photo: getty)

The four semi-finalists for the 2016 ICC World T20 have been confirmed, after the last decisive group game was played on Sunday afternoon.

There is still one game left of the Super 10 stage, which has been hugely exciting, with South Africa and Sri Lanka facing off in a dead-rubber on Monday. 

Neither of those two teams can qualify, with England and West Indies having progressed from their group, joined by New Zealand and India in the last four - with India defeating Australia in a virtual quarter-final affair on Sunday afternoon.

Semi-final fixtures confirmed

The results have seen West Indies come first, just above England via net run rate in Group 2, whilst New Zealand qualified as winners in Group 1, ahead of India. Due to this, the semi-final fixtures are as follows.

New Zealand - England (Wednesday, 13:30 BST, Dehli)

West Indies - India (Thursday, 13:30 BST, Mumbai)

Who wins from here?

It's sure to be an exciting couple of days, with the tournament impossible to predict. India looked down and out first against Bangladesh, and then Australia, but they bounced back and will now be hoping to take their momentum into the game against the West Indies, who themselves may have taken a confidence hit following their surprise defeat to Afghanistan on Sunday.

New Zealand looked assured as you like in each four of their Super 10 games, going through to the last four with a 100% win record. You wouldn't bet hugely against England though, who seem to be improving as the tournament goes on, as they showed with a tense win under pressure against Sri Lanka on Saturday.

With just three games left in what's been a memorable tournament so far, we're slightly closer to finding out who will emerge victorious, and we'll have every bit of the action covered.

England, pictured celebrating a wicket against Sri Lanka, can still win the trophy (photo: AP)
England, pictured celebrating a wicket against Sri Lanka, can still win the trophy (photo: AP)