Jones names first Germany squad for Russia and Hungary qualifiers
Image credit:

Jones names first Germany squad for Russia and Hungary qualifiers

Can Jones pick up where Neid left off?

Jonathan Walsh

Steffi Jones has named her first Germany squad for the upcoming 2017 UEFA European Championship qualifiers against Russia and Hungary.

The Germans are fresh from their first-ever Olympic Gold medal in Women's Football, as well as multiple key players retiring.

It is a new-look squad with Melanie Behringer, Saskia Batusiak and Annike Krahn all ending their international careers. Several medal winners have also been rested.

With Germany having already qualified for the finals they have room to experiment, and will be gunning for a seventh straight European crown come summer 2017.

New faces

Linda Dallmann, Jacqueline Klasen and Hasret Kayikci are the three players who have been called up for the first time.

Simone Laudehr (torn knee ligament) and Dzsenifer Marozsan (muscle problems) are absent, while Meike Kämper could make her first appearance for her country.

Jones laid out the priorities for the upcoming games the Germany have planned as "instilling game philosophy, trying out different things, giving interesting players a chance".

The new head coach said that Dallmann, Klasen and Kayikci "are the players who attracted our attention and we want to see them play for the national team".

Jones, when asked about the retirements to Bartusiak, Krahn and Behringer, stressed: "We urgently need to fill in the gaps they have left in the team.”

Germany squad in full to face Russia and Hungary

Goalkeepers: Meike Kämper (MSV Duisburg), Almuth Schult (VfL Wolfsburg), Lisa Weiß (SGS Essen).

Defenders: Kristin Demann (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Josephine Henning (Arsenal), Tabea Kemme (Turbine Potsdam), Babett Peter (VfL Wolfsburg), Felicitas Rauch (Tubine Potsdam).

Midfielders: Anna Blässe (VfL Wolfsburg), Linda Dallmann (SGS Essen), Verena Faißt (Bayern Munich), Lena Goeßling (VfL Wolfsburg), Kathrin Hendrich (1. FFC Frankfurt), Svenja Huth (Turbine Potsdam), Isabel Kerschowski (VfL Wolfsburg), Jacqueline Klasen (SGS Essen).

Forwards: Pauline Bremer (Olympique Lyonnais), Mandy Islacker (1. FFC Frankfurt), Hasret Kayikci (SC Freburg), Lina Magull (SC Freiburg), Anja Mittag (VfL Wolfsburg).

Quotes via