Mo Marley names under-20 squad for NTC Tournament

Mo Marley names under-20 squad for NTC Tournament

20 Young Lionesses are California dreaming.

Sophie Lawson

England under-20 boss Mo Marley has named her 20-man squad who’ll represent England at the NTC Invitational Tournament this month.

Stern test

With the U20 World Cup set to kick-off in November Marley’s Young Lionesses will be facing three nations who, unlike England, have qualified for the final tournament.

Brazil, South Korea and hosts USA are all be set to test Marley’s squad as they make their last preparations for the World Cup with three teams full of players who want to impress their international managers before the showpiece tournament.

Wary of the competition, Marley has named a strong side, studded with young WSL starlets. Eight of her 20 come from WSL 1, 11 from WSL 2 as well as former Man City attacker Natasha Flint; the only WPL representative. With five of the 20 – Jess Carter, Natasha Flint, Gabrielle George, Leah Williamson and Katie Zelem – having experienced the U20 World Cup for themselves in 2014.

Regular spectators of WSL will be aware of the wealth of young talent that Marley takes with her, many set to be knocking at the door of the Next Gen squad when they move up through the age bracket.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Sophie Baggaley (Birmingham City), Demi Lambourne (Oxford United).

Defenders: Molly Bartrip (Reading), Gabrielle George (Everton), Jess Carter (Birmingham City), [Leah Williamson (Arsenal) withdrawn and replaced by Georgia Brougham (Everton)], Eloise Wilson (Bristol City), Elisha N’Dow (Aston Villa), Millie Turner (Everton)

Midfielders: Jodie Brett (Bristol City – on loan from Chelsea), Kiera Walsh (Manchester City), Jenna Dear (Everton), Coral-Jade Haines (Birmingham City), Katie Zelem (Liverpool), Beth Hepple (Durham). 

Forwards: Claudia Walker (Everton), Natasha Flint (Fylde), Carla Humphrey (Doncaster Belles – on loan from Arsenal), Rosella Ayane (Everton – on loan from Chelsea), Sarah Mayling (Aston Villa).

England are set to play Brazil at 12am on Thursday 15 September, USA at 3am on Saturday 17 September and finish the tournament against South Korea at 9pm on Sunday 18 September. All times are in BST and each match will take place at Glenn Mooch Myernick Field, California.