Wayne Rooney left out of Manchester United squad for Europa League tie
Rooney celebrates against AFC Bournemouth last season | Photo: Lindsey Parnaby/AFP

Captain Wayne Rooney has been left out of Manchester United's 20-man squad for their UEFA Europa League away game at Feyenoord.

The Englishman has started every game for the Reds this season, also playing for England, whom he captains, during the international break. His performances have been questioned by many who believe that he is hindering the performances of world-record signing Paul Pogba.

Rooney rested for trip to Feyenoord

Now United fans may have a chance to see Pogba in a team without Rooney. This could also be a chance to see some of the fringe players at the club, with names such as Memphis Depay and Morgan Schneiderlin included.

Rooney arguing with refereeing Mark Clattenburg on Saturday | Photo: Graham Chadwick/Daily Mail
Rooney arguing with refereeing Mark Clattenburg on Saturday | Photo: Graham Chadwick/Daily Mail

The other notable names alongside Rooney who have not traveled with Jose Mourinho's squad are Jesse LingardLuke Shaw, and Antonio Valencia. With both first-choice full-backs left out, it is expected that Matteo Darmian will get his first start under Mourinho, as well as Marcos Rojo.

After a defeat in the first Manchester derby between Mourinho and Pep Guardiola, United must bounce back and make a statement with a victory against Feyenoord. Yet, as attacking midfielder Juan Mata has said, the Dutch side provide a tough challenge, having won their opening five games of the season.

United looking to bounce back from derby defeat

United began last season in the UEFA Champions League but dropped down to Europe's second-tier club competition after finishing third in the group stages. In the Europa League, they were knocked out by bitter rivals Liverpool having had a scare against Danish side and relative European minnows FC Midtjylland.

Full Manchester United squad for away trip to Feyenoord:​ De Gea, Romero, Johnstone; Darmian, Bailly, Blind, Fosu-Mensah, Rojo, Smalling; Carrick, Fellaini, Herrera, Mata, Memphis, Pogba, Schneiderlin, Young; Ibrahimovic, Martial, Rashford.