Switzerland squad for Euro 2017 announced

One of the last few teams to be unveiled ahead of European Championships this month, the final Switzerland 23 for Holland has been revealed to round off Group C.

Leading with experience

There were few surprises to be had in the squad, guaranteed to be taking a handful of younger and less capped players, the majority of those who missed out were on the fringes, the most notable absentee 25-year-old Selina Kuster who misses out with a cruciate injury.

With few minutes between them, attacking trio Patricia Willi, Melanie Müller and Barla Deplazes miss out in favour of regulars such as Ana-Maria Crnogorčević and Ramona Bachmann.

The only semi-regular midfielder to miss out, 22-year-old Florijana Ismaili the, the Young Boys star a little unlucky to miss out after featuring at the World Cup two years ago as well as the Cyrpus Cup this year. Naomi Mégroz the only other member of Switzerland’s Cyprus Cup winning squad to miss out on the Euros this summer.

As it of little surprise, the squad is heavy on Nationalliga stars as well as Frauen-Bundesliga players, Zürich and Basel contributing nine players with Luzern and Young Boys rounding out the 11 who play at home in Switzerland.

VfL Wolfsburg, Turbine Potsdam and Bayern Munich supply a further eight with Duisburg and Frankfurt rounding out the numbers for Germany. Bachmann the only Swiss player to represent the FA WSL after moving to Chelsea at the end of last year, and Gaëlle Thalmann still the faithful number one for Verona.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Gaëlle Thalmann (AGSM Verona), Stenia Michel (FC Basel), Seraina Friedli (FC Zürich).

Defenders: Sandra Betschart (MSV Duisburg), Rachel Rinast (FC Basel), Noëlle Maritz (VfL Wolfsburg), Rahel Kiwic (Turbine Potsdam), Caroline Abbé (Bayern Munich), Jana Brunner (FC Basel).

Midfielders: Martina Moser (FC Zürich), Cinzia Zehnder (FC Zürich), Lia Wälti (Turbine Potsdam), Vanessa Bürki (Bayern Munich), Lara Dickenmann (VfL Wolfsburg), Vanessa Bernauer (VfL Wolfsburg) Sandrine Mauron (FC Zürich), Meriame Terchoun (FC Basel), Viola Calligaris (BSC Young Boys).

Attackers: Ramona Bachmann (Chelsea), Fabienne Humm (FC Zürich), Ana-Maria Crnogorčević (FFC Frankfurt), Eseosa Aigbogun (Turbine Potsdam), Géraldine Reuteler (FC Luzern).