Which Tottenham players will be featuring at the Euros?

With all the participating countries having announced their squad, which Spurs players will be featuring in the tournament this summer?

Which Tottenham players will be featuring at the Euros?
Alli, Dier and Kane celebrate Dier's goal against Germany (source: Getty Images)

Tottenham Hotspur will have a total of 11 players representing their countries at this summers European Championships.

Hugo Lloris will resume captain duties for France, while Toby Alderweireld, Jan Vertonghen and Mousa Dembele have linked up with Belgian. Five Tottenham players have been called up to the England squad, those being Kyle Walker, Danny Rose, Eric Dier, Dele Alli and Harry Kane. Ben Davies will also be featuring for Wales and Kevin Wimmer has earned a place with Austria.

Hugo Lloris

Lloris has represented his country at all stages of his career, starting from the under-18s to the present day. The goalkeeper is currently the host nations captain, after receiving the armband for the first time in 2010, and permanently in 2012. Lloris has 74 caps to his name and received his first in 2008.

France will open the tournament on Friday 10 June against Romania. They also face Albania and Switzerland in the group stages.

Alderweireld, Vertonghen and Dembele

Defenders Toby Alderweireld and Jan Vertonghen as well as midfielder Mousa Dembele have all been named in Belgium’s Euro squad. At Tottenham, Alderweireld and Vertonghen have formed a lethal partnership in the core of the Lilywhites defence but due to the lack of fullbacks available to the Belgian squad the two regularly feature in that position for their country.

Alderweireld has featured for The Red Devils at a senior level over 50 times, while Vertonghen has more than 70 caps to his name. Mousa Dembele has achieved over 60 caps playing in midfield for his country.

Belgium’s first game in the championship will be against Italy on Monday 13th. They will also face the Republic of Ireland and Sweden in the group stages.

Walker, Rose, Dier, Alli, Kane

All five Tottenham players that were selected in Roy Hodgsons 26-man provisional squad have secured their place on the plane to France. England will face Russia in their tournament opener on the 11th of June before coming up against Wales and Slovakia days later.  Kyle Walker is the most experienced of the Tottenham players at an international level, having played for the three lions 14 times since his debut in 2011. Fellow fullback Danny Rose, as well as midfield duo Eric Dier and Dele Alli all picked up debuts this season, and since have been influential in the England squad. Kane however burst onto the England scene in March after scoring 79 seconds into his debut and since has scored four goals. Kane looks most likely to lead the line for England this summer.

Ben Davies

The Welshman has also secured his place in Chris Coleman’s team.  Davies has 20 caps to his name after receiving his debut in 2012. The Dragons have been drawn in the same group as England and will face them on June 16th. They will first face Slovakia in their opener before finishing the group stages with Russia.

Kevin Wimmer

Austrian defender Kevin Wimmer earned his first cap for his country in 2013, in a friendly against the United States. Wimmer is not a starter for his national team but looks to push for a place. Austria will be in Group F for the tournament and so will have to fend off Hungary, Iceland and Portugal. Their first game is against Hungary on the 14th of June.

Players who have missed out

A handful of Tottenham players have missed out on the chance to go to the European Championship , either due to not being chosen or their country not qualifying. Nacer Chadli and Ryan Mason both featured in Belgium’s and Englands qualifying campaign respectively, but both have not been named in their countries squad. Both players failed to nail down a place in Tottenham’s starting XI this season and this is a major factor as to why neither were chosen. Playmaker Christian Eriksen’s Denmark failed to qualify for the tournament, as did Michel Vorm’s Holland.

Eriksen won't be in France this summer after Denmark failed to qualify (photo: Reuters)
Eriksen won't be in France this summer after Denmark failed to qualify (photo: Reuters)