Tottenham’s Euro 2016 update: Only Kevin Wimmer’s Austria fail to qualify for the next round

England, France, Wales and Belgium have all qualified to the knockout stages as seven Tottenham players featured on match day three.

Tottenham’s Euro 2016 update: Only Kevin Wimmer’s Austria
fail to qualify for the next round
Ben Davies played the full game against Russia (source: Zimbio)

Kevin Wimmer is the only Tottenham player of the 11 representing their country to not qualify to the last 16 in the European Championship. Hugo Lloris’s France, Toby Alderweierld, Jan Vertonghen and Mousa Dembele’s Belgium as well as Ben DaviesWales, Harry Kane, Danny Rose, Dele Alli, Kyle Walker and Eric Dier’s England all made it through to the next round.

Only Hugo Lloris, Toby Alderweireld, Jan Vertonghen, Ben Davies and Eric Dier started for their country, while Harry Kane and Dele Alli made substitute appearances. Kyle Walker, Danny Rose, Mousa Dembele and Kevin Wimmer were all unused substitutes.

Failing to qualify

Kevin Wimmer’s Austria finished the group stage in fourth position after a 2-1 loss to Iceland. A win however would have secured them second place, as they would have finished on four points and so gained automatic qualification. Austria only secured one point in all the group stages as they lost their opening game 2-0 to Hungary before holding Portugal to a goalless draw. Kevin Wimmer only featured for a total of seven minutes in the whole tournament. Wimmer made a substitute appearance in the 87th minute of his countries draw against Portugal.

Still fighting strong

In Group B, Ben Davies’ Wales finished the group strongly with a 3-0 win over Russia. The left back played every minute for his country in the tournament and won the Man of the Match award for his performance in Wales’ 2-1 win over Slovakia.

England however, who have five Tottenham players in their 23-man squad, finished second to Wales, with only a point separating the two British teams. The Three Lions finished the group with a frustrating goalless draw with Slovakia, as Eric Dier was the only Tottenham player to start. Midfielder Dele Alli and striker Harry Kane made substitute appearances on the hour mark and in the 76th minute respectively. Kyle Walker and Danny Rose were both unused substitutes. Wales will face Northern Ireland in Paris in the next round, while England face Iceland in Nice.

Eric Dier stars against Slovakia (source: hitc)

Hugo Lloris captained France to a goalless draw against Switzerland. Les Bleus finished top of their group with two points after securing a win against both Romania and Albania. Lloris’ start against Switzerland was his 54th cap andso meant he matched his manager, Didier Deschamp’s record amount of caps for his country. France will face the Republic of Ireland in the next round.

Finally Belgium finished joint top of Group E with Italy on six points. Defensive duo Toby Alderweireld and Jan Vertonghen both started in in Belgium’s 1-0 win over Sweden. While Mousa Dembele only featured for 57 minutes in Belgium’s 3-0 win over the Republic of Ireland