West Ham United announce Premier League squad listing

West Ham United have finalised their 2016/17 Premier League squad.

West Ham United announce Premier League squad listing
Photo: Getty Images

West Ham United, along with the rest of the Premier League clubs, have submitted their final squad listing for the 2016/17 season. 

Ready to go 

In line with Premier League rules the Hammers have finalised their squad that can be used in the league until the end of December, when the transfer window reopens. The 25-man squad will consist of 16 overseas players, along with nine homegrown players, as well as unlimited use of their under-21 slots for talents like of Ashley Fletcher and Reece Oxford.

Above: Michail Antonio in action for West Ham United | Photo: Getty Images
Above: Michail Antonio in action for West Ham United | Photo: Getty Images

Moving to wing 

All of the Hammers' singings over the summer could all feature over the next four months, however it can be argued that Antonio has been the club's best player so far. Two goals against AFC Bournemouth and Manchester City, and strong performances, have earned him his first call-up to the England squad. 

Despite the performances, he has been playing out position as a full-back rather than a winger, however co-chairman David Sullivan, has confirmed that he will be played on the wing for the foreseeable future. 

Sullivan told whufc.com: "Before the Deadline Day on Wednesday we had an unbalanced squad and we needed to change a few things around," he admitted, but confirmed to the club site that: "The decision has now been made that Michail Antonio will play as a winger after originally starting the season as a right-back." 

He concluded: "We explored all avenues and managed to secure the signature of one of the more experienced full-backs in the world, one with Premier League experience." 

West Ham United squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph, Adrian, Raphael Speigel.

Defenders: Winston Reid, Aaron Cresswell, Alvaro Arbeloa, James Collins, Angelo Ogbonna, Sam Byram, Arthur Masuaku, Sam Westley.

Midfielders: Havard Nordtveit, Sofiane Feghouli, Cheikhou Kouyate, Manuel Lanzini, Pedro Obiang, Mark Noble, Gokhan Tore, Andre Ayew, Dimitri Payet, Michail Antonio.

Forwards: Andy Carroll, Simone Zaza, Diafra Sakho, Jonathan Calleri.

West Ham United will take on Watford at the London Stadium on Saturday, September 10 with kick-off at 3pm BST.