Bergerôo selects France squad for Rio 2016

Will France go one step further than their fourth place in 2012?

Bergerôo selects France squad for Rio 2016
Image credit: FFF

On Wednesday, Philippe Bergerôo named the 18 strong France squad he would be taking to Brazil for the Olympic Games.

Four reserves also made the list, with the squad dominated almost exclusively by Olympique Lyonnais and Paris Saint-Germain players.

The team will soon head to Clairefontaine for a 13-day training camp, as the French gear up for a tough and testing group stage.

No surprises

There were no shocks or questionable admissions by Bergerôo, in a side that has come to pick itself over recent years.

The only disappointment for the head coach comes in the form of Laure Boulleau's absence. The defender is out with yet another knee injury.

France will play two games in France before heading to Rio de Janiero, taking on both China (16th July) and Canada (July 23rd).

When in Brazil, Bergerôo's charges will face Colombia (3 August), the USA (6 August) and New Zealand (August 9) for a place in the knock-out rounds.

In 2012, the French finished fourth after losing out to Canada in the Bronze Medal match, courtesy of Diana Matheson's 92nd minute winner.

Only four of the squad are not from PSG or Lyon, with Élise Bussaglia, Louisa Necib, Amandine Henry and Kadidatou Diani the only exceptions.

Laure Boulleau will play no part in Rio. | Image credit: FFF
Laure Boulleau will play no part in Rio. | Image credit: FFF

France squad in full

Goalkeepers: Sarah Bouhaddi (Olympique Lyonnais), Méline Gérard (Olympique Lyonnais).

Defenders: Sabrina Delannoy (Paris SG), Jessica Houara d’Hommeaux (Olympique Lyonnais), Laura Georges (Paris SG), Amel Majri (Olympique Lyonnais), Griedge Mbock Bathy (Olympique Lyonnais), Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyonnais).

Midfielders: Camille Abily (Olympique Lyonnais), Élise Bussaglia (VfL Wolfsburg), Kadidiatou Diani (FCF Juvisy), Kheira Hamraoui (Olympique Lyonnais), Amandine Henry (Portland Thorns FC), Claire Lavogez (Olympique Lyonnais), Louisa Necib, Élodie Thomis (Olympique Lyonnais).

Forwards: Marie-Laure Delie (Paris SG), Eugénie Le Sommer (Olympique Lyonnais).

Reserves: Kenza Dali (Olympique Lyonnais), Sakina Karchaoui (Montpellier HSC), Clarisse Le Bihan (Monptellier HSC), Laëtitia Philippe (Montpellier HSC).