Streichsbier selects Germany under-19 squad for upcoming European Championship

Will the German youngsters make up for last year's poor showing?

Streichsbier selects Germany under-19 squad for upcoming European Championship
Image credit:

On Tuesday, Guido Streichsbier announced the 18-man squad that Germany will take to the 2016 UEFA European under-19 Championship.

Of course, they do not have to travel far as the Germans will be the hosts for this edition of the prestigious youth tournament.

Germany will be hoping to improve on last year's showing, where they failed to get out of the group stage.

A tournament win on home soil?

There is little surprise in the squad, with the majority of the 18 selected players nearing their 10th cap at this level.

The most experienced trio all play at the back, and will be looking to form a solid partnership at the finals: Gino Fechner, Benedikt Gimber and Jannes-Kilian Horn.

In contrast, there are two players who are yet to be capped for the under-19s. Janni-Luca Serra and Gökhan Gül, both supremely talented, made the squad a year young.

Fans of the Bundesliga will recognise Maximilian Mittelstädt, Philipp Ochs and Benjamin Henrichs; all of which played their part during the previous year at their clubs.

As for the 2. Bundesliga faithful, both Marvin Mehlem and Cedric Teuchert have featured for Karlsruher SC and 1. FC Nürnberg, respectively.

Without doubt, Germany have one of the most talented squads in the tournament and will be hoping the above players can show why they already have first-team experience.

Germany under-19 squad in full

Goalkeepers: Florian Müller (1. FSV Mainz 05), Dominik Reimann (Borussia Dortmund).

Defenders: Lukas Boeder (Bayer Leverkusen), Gino Fechner (RB Leipzig), Benedikt Gimber (SV Sandhausen), Jannes-Kilian Horn (VfL Wolfsburg), Maximilian Mittelstädt (Hertha BSC), Phil Neumann (Schalke 04), Gökhan Gül (VfL Bochum).

Midfielders: Max Besuchkow (VfB Stuttgart), Amara Conde (VfL Wolfsburg), Benjamin Henrichs (Bayer Leverkusen), Marvin Mehlem (Karlsruher SC), Fabian Reese (Schalke 04), Suat Serdar (1. FSV Mainz 05).

Forwards: Philipp Ochs (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Janni-Luca Serra (Borussia Dortmund), Cedric Teuchert (1. FC Nürnberg).