Darts: Rydz secures debut PDC title at PDC Super Series
(Photo by Luke Walker/Getty Images)

Callan Rydz clinched his first PDC ranking title after seeing off Jonny Clayton 8-7 in the final at Players Championship Two at the Bolton Whites Hotel

The Riot, a previous winner on the Development and Challenge Tour, was in fine form throughout the second day of the PDC Super Series and come through a last-leg decider against Clayton. 

Rydz fired home a stunning 127 checkout to level the game at 7-7 before going on to close out the game to pick up the £10,000 prize and his first ProTour title.

Rydz beats Clayton to win first PDC title

Rydz was named PDC Young Player of the Year for 2020, and began the day by coming through a deciding leg against Russian Boris Koltsov, with a ton-plus average. 

After beating Ross Smith and Alan Soutar, Rydz put Jeff Smith (6-0) and Ian White (6-1) to the sword before booking his place in the final following a ruthless 7-2 win against last year's Premier League finalist, Nathan Aspinall

Clayton continued where he left off the previous day and reached the final following wins against the likes of former world number one Michael van Gerwen, Mensur Suljović and Vincent van der Voort

Rydz began by holding his throw before Clayton won three straight legs, including hitting a 121 checkout to break throw in the third leg. 

The Riot responded with three straight legs of his own and after Clayton stopped the run by holding throw, Rydz went on to open up a 6-4 lead. 

Clayton turned on the heavy scoring to win the next three legs, but a stunning 127 finish under pressure from Rydz kept the final alive and forced a deciding leg.

The Bedlington ace followed up with an 87 finish in the final leg of the game to secure his first PDC title on the ProTour.

Embed from Getty Images

Beaney stuns world champion Price in second round

After an action-packed opening day on the PDC ProTour in Bolton, the upsets continued as world number one Gerwyn Price was stunned by Aaron Beaney, who took out 86 in a last-leg decider, in the Second Round. 

John Michael made a run to the quarter finals of the tournament in his second event since retaining his Tour Card at Q School last month, eventually losing out to Aspinall in the final, who went on to reach the semi-finals for the second successive day.

PDC newcomer Soutar, who beat both Adrian Lewis - who hit the second nine-darter of the week in the second round - and Dave Chisnall at Players Championship 1, averaged 105 in a thrilling win over world number three Peter Wright, who was knocked out early in the tournament for the second successive day. 

Former world number one Michael van Gerwen was thrashed 6-1 by Clayton in the last 16, while Joe Cullen, who won the first PDC title of 2021, was beaten in the same round by Steve Beaton