Darts: Schedule released for first part of 2021 Premier League
Glen Durrant won the 2020 Premier League with a 11-8 victory over Nathan Aspinall in the final. (Picture: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The PDC have announced the fixture list for the first nine nights of the Premier League, and the opening night sees defending champion Glen Durrant take on Nathan Aspinall.

The new campaign had been due to begin at Cardiff's Motorpoint Arena on February 4 but with Covid-19 restrictions, the first nine events will take place in two blocks during April - at the end of those nine nights the bottom two players in the standings will be relegated.

No date - or venue - has been confirmed for the second phase of the competition, with the PDC expected to announce plans for the seven-night second phase and the Play-Offs in the coming weeks.

  • The Schedule

The round robin campaign will commence on Monday April 5 with a repeat of last year's final between defending champion Durrant and Aspinall on the agenda.

The opening night will also feature a rematch of the January’s World Championship final between Gerwyn Price and Gary Anderson.

Five-time Premier League Champion Michael van Gerwen opens against 2020 World Matchplay champion, Dimitri van den Bergh who is making his debut in what will probably be one if not the highlight of his career.

Former Premier League finalists Peter Wright and Rob Cross will face another two debutants in Jonny Clayton and Jose de Sousa respectively as the 2021 Masters and 2020 Grand Slam of Darts winners begin their campaigns.

On Night Two, van Gerwen and Wright face off in the headline tie, with former World Cup teammates Wright and Anderson collide on Night Three.

Night Four will see the current top two in the world in Van Gerwen and Price face off, while Price and Durrant will face off in a World vs Premier League champion battle.

Action will then resume on Monday April 19, which features Durrant taking on Van Gerwen in a meeting of the only two players to have topped the table in the line-up.

Night Seven sees Wright take on Price while Night Eight includes a repeat of the 2020 World Matchplay final between Van den Bergh and Anderson as well as World Cup partners colliding in Price and Clayton.

Judgement Night sees the players competing in their ninth league match following with the bottom two being eliminate with ties including Price against Van den Bergh, Aspinall playing Anderson, De Sousa facing Wright, Durrant taking on Cross and Clayton facing Van Gerwen.

  • Fixtures - 2021 Premier League Darts

Night One - Monday April 5

Nathan Aspinall v Glen Durrant

Rob Cross v Jose de Sousa

Peter Wright v Jonny Clayton

Gerwyn Price v Gary Anderson

Michael van Gerwen v Dimitri Van den Bergh


Night Two - Tuesday April 6

Gary Anderson v Jose de Sousa

Jonny Clayton v Glen Durrant

Dimitri Van den Bergh v Nathan Aspinall

Michael van Gerwen v Peter Wright

Gerwyn Price v Rob Cross


Night Three - Wednesday April 7

Rob Cross v Michael van Gerwen

Glen Durrant v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Peter Wright v Gary Anderson

Nathan Aspinall v Gerwyn Price

Jose de Sousa v Jonny Clayton


Night Four - Thursday April 8

Dimitri Van den Bergh v Peter Wright

Jonny Clayton v Rob Cross

Jose de Sousa v Nathan Aspinall

Gerwyn Price v Michael van Gerwen

Gary Anderson v Glen Durrant


Night Five - Friday April 9

Gary Anderson v Jonny Clayton

Peter Wright v Rob Cross

Michael van Gerwen v Nathan Aspinall

Gerwyn Price v Glen Durrant

Dimitri Van den Bergh v Jose de Sousa


Night Six - Monday April 19

Rob Cross v Gary Anderson

Jose de Sousa v Gerwyn Price

Jonny Clayton v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Glen Durrant v Michael van Gerwen

Nathan Aspinall v Peter Wright


Night Seven - Tuesday April 20

Glen Durrant v Jose de Sousa

Rob Cross v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Nathan Aspinall v Jonny Clayton

Peter Wright v Gerwyn Price

Michael van Gerwen v Gary Anderson


Night Eight - Wednesday April 21

Rob Cross v Nathan Aspinall

Gary Anderson v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Michael van Gerwen v Jose de Sousa

Gerwyn Price v Jonny Clayton

Peter Wright v Glen Durrant


Judgement Night - Thursday April 22

Jonny Clayton v Michael van Gerwen

Glen Durrant v Rob Cross

Jose de Sousa v Peter Wright

Nathan Aspinall v Gary Anderson

Dimitri Van den Bergh v Gerwyn Price