Darts: Jonny Clayton Hits Perfection on Premier League Night Three
(Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Jonny Clayton stole the show on Night Three of the Premier League of Darts, continuing his incredible start to life in the Premier League with a nine-dart leg during a 7-3 win over Jose De Sousa.

The Welshman, who was averaging 105.26 himself, was imperious on the night overturning a 108.48 average from Portuguese ace De Sousa to take the two points, and hit the 11th nine-darter in Premier League history.

Michael Van Gerwen maintained his excellent record against Rob Cross in the opening game of the night producing a 107.58 average in the process, suggesting the Dutchman is back to his best.

Dimitri Van den Bergh climbed to the top of the Premier League table on night three after an impressive whitewash victory over reigning champion Glen Durrant on night three of the Premier League in Milton Keynes.

The Belgian ace was in solid form on the night and was able to record the first whitewash of this year's tournament with a 93.94 average enough to dispose of Duzza with the minimum of fuss.

Peter Wright also took a much-needed victory defeating his Scottish compatriot Gary Anderson, with a fine performance which included 12 140's and 53.85% on his doubles.

Nathan Aspinall then returned to winning ways, after his defeat at the hands of Van Den Bergh last night, dispatching of James Wade 7-4 in an enthralling encounter.

(Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)
(Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Van Gerwen back to his best

Van Gerwen opened up night three with a matchup against old foe Cross and was in imperious form, combatting the former World Champion with a 107.58 average.

The Dutchman made a positive start to his tussle with Cross, taking an early 3-1 lead, before taking a crucial break in the eighth leg which proved to be the crucial point in the match.

A good win and a good performance from Van Gerwen who is showing signs of a return to his best form, after a miserable campaign in the Premier League last year.

After this, Van Den Bergh took to the oche and disposed of reigning champion Durrant in the most comprehensive of fashion, recording a whitewash victory over Duzza.

Another bitterly disappointing result, and first three nights, for Durrant who took yet another confidence hit as he desperately searches for an uplift in his form.

(Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)
(Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Wright gets his first win under belt

Another fine performance on Night Three came from 2020 World Champion Wright, who was prolific on the doubles as he disposed of Gary Anderson 7-4.

Snakebite responded after his loss to Van Gerwen on Night Two, and took his first win of this year's tournament against Anderson, who had made a positive start to his bid for a third Premier League crown.

Aspinall was also in the winner's circle on Wednesday night, as he defeated Wade in another close encounter, with the superior scoring of the Stockport ace enough to tie up the victory.

A fine display from the Asp, who is showing signs of a return to form and proving himself to be once again a genuine candidate for the title. There was a late threat from Wade to make it 6-4, but Aspinall saw off and wrapped up the win.

Clayton hits nine-darter against De Sousa

But it would be darts' in-form player Clayton, who would steal the show on night three, after an incredible display in a 7-3 victory over De Sousa, which included a sumptuous nine-dart leg.

After earning the last spot in the tournament, the Ferret has repaid the faith of those who selected him to participate time and time again, and the Welshman will cause everyone difficulties in this year's event.

On the wrong side of the masterclass was De Sousa, who rather ironically produced the highest average of the evening, with a 108.48 average not enough to stop Clayton, in a match in which both player's were at the top of their games.

2021 Unibet Premier League
Night Three
Wednesday April 7

Rob Cross 3-7 Michael van Gerwen
Glen Durrant 0-7 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Peter Wright 7-4 Gary Anderson
Nathan Aspinall 7-4 James Wade
Jose de Sousa 3-7 Jonny Clayton

Night Four
Thursday April 8

Dimitri Van den Bergh v Peter Wright
Jonny Clayton v Rob Cross
Jose de Sousa v Nathan Aspinall
James Wade v Michael van Gerwen
Gary Anderson v Glen Durrant