Gatland names Welsh World Cup squad, confirming Sam Warburton as captain
Sam Warburton is confirmed as Welsh captain for the World Cup by Warren Gatland (Photo: Sky)

Gatland names Welsh World Cup squad, confirming Sam Warburton as captain

Sam Warburton named as Welsh captain for 2015 World Cup, with back-rower looking for redemption after seeing red famously four years ago

Tom Hiscott

The Welsh squad for the 2015 Rugby World Cup has been announced, with head coach Warren Gatland plumping for a couple of World Cup 'bolters'.

Players with very little international experience have made the 31-man squad, including Bath Rugby's Dominic Day, Bristol's Matthew Morgan and Exeter's Tomas Francis

Alongside those with a small amount of Welsh appearances are a host of fully-entrenched members of the squad who have been in Gatland's plans for many years.

Injured-pair Samson Lee (Achillies) and Liam Williams (foot) have both been included in the squad, who picked up a recent confidence boosting victory in Dublin against Ireland.  

Anscombe among those to miss last cut

New Zealand-born utility back Gareth Anscombe has missed out on the squad after suffering an ankle injury last week. 

Anscombe had gained eligibility due to the fact he has a Welsh-born mother, and made his debut for Wales at the beginning of August in a home defeat against Ireland. 

He only joined the Cardiff Blues at the start of last season, with Gatland hoping to draft him in so that he could make an impact on the World Cup stage, yet injury has de-railed his progress.

Anscombe joins Tyler Morgan, Eli Walker, Ross Moriarty, Rob Evans, Scott Andrews and Kristian Dacey in missing out on World Cup selection at the last hurdle. 

Welsh up against it in Pool A

Drawn in the toughest ever World Cup pool, Wales will have to be at their best from the very beginning of the competition to qualify for the knockout stages. 

Starting with their easiest pool game against Uruguay, the Welsh then go on to play England and Fiji, before ending with a match against Australia which may decide who reaches the quarter-finals.

Squad in full

Props: Gethin Jenkins, Paul James, Aaron Jarvis, Tomas Francis, Samson Lee.

Hookers: Scott Baldwin, Ken Owens. 

Locks: Jake Ball, Bradley Davies, Alun Wyn Jones, Dominic Day, Luke Charteris.

Loose Forwards: Dan Lydiate, Jake King, Talupe Faletau, Sam Warburton (captain), Justin Tipuric.

Scrum-Halves: Gareth Davies, Lloyd Williams, Rhys Webb.

Fly-Halves: Dan Biggar, Rhys Priestland.

Centres: Jamie Roberts, Scott Williams, Cory Allen.

Outside Backs: Hallam Amos, Alex Cuthbert, George North, Liam Williams, Leigh Halfpenny, Matthew Morgan.