Wales - Uruguay 2015 Rugby World Cup Match Preview: Welsh keen to start with a bang
Sam Warburton and Justin Tipuric will play alongside one another in Wales' opener (image via: southwales-eveningpost)

Wales get their Rugby World Cup campaign underway on Sunday when they take on Pool A outsiders Uruguay at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

Warren Gatland’s side will be hoping to put in a strong performance and get Welsh fans in a positive mood ahead of their next game against England at Twickenham next weekend.

After losing Rhys Webb and Leigh Halfpenny to injury on the eve of the tournament, Gatland is taking no chances with his selection, resting plenty of players ahead of the bigger tests to come in the gruesome looking Pool A.

Warburton and Tipuric selected in Welsh back-row

The stand-out selection in the Welsh side to take on Uruguay, is the inclusion of both Sam Warburton and Justin Tipuric in the back-row.

Tipuric has been in excellent form of late, and is putting Dan Lydiate under pressure to gain the third back-row slot for the game against England alongside Warburton and Toby Faletau.

Wales fans will be excited to see how Liam Williams performs at full-back, with the Llanelli man expected to take Halfpenny’s place in the first-choice XV if he can prove he has overcome injury.

Uruguayans all set for World Cup debuts

All 23 ‘Los Teros’ players named to face Wales by head coach Pablo Lemoine will be making their World Cup debuts.

Starting hooker Carlos Arboleya is the most experienced player in the squad with 51 caps, with lock Santiago Vilaseca captaining the side.

Seen as whipping boys in an incredibly tough pool, the pressure is off Uruguay which may make them a dangerous opponent. 

How the teams line up

Wales: 1. Paul James, 2. Scott Baldwin, 3. Samson Lee

4. Jake Ball, 5. Luke Charteris

6. Sam Warburton (c), 7. Justin Tipuric, 8. James King

9. Gareth Davies, 10. Rhys Priestland

11. Hallam Amos, 12. Scott Williams, 13. Cory Allen, 14. Alex Cuthbert, 15. Liam Williams

Replacements: 16. Ken Owens, 17. Aaron Jarvis, 18. Tom Francis, 19. Dominic Day, 20. Dan Lydiate, 21. Ross Moriarty, 22. Lloyd Williams, 23. Matthew Morgan

Uruguay: 1. Alejo Corral, 2. Carlos Arboleya, 3. Mario Sagario

4. Santiago Vilaseca (captain), 5. Jorge Zerbino 

6. Juan Manuel Gaminara, 7. Matias Beer, 8. Alejandro Nieto

9. Agustin Ormaechea, 10. Felipe Berchesi

11. Rodrigo Silva, 12. Andres Vilaseca, 13. Joaquin Prada, 14. Santiago Gibernau, 15. Gaston Meres 

Replacements: 16. German Kessler, 17. Oscar Duran, 18. Mateo Sanguinetti, 19. Franco Lamanna, 20. Agustin Alonso, 21. Juan De Freitas, 22. Alejo Duran, 23. Francisco Bulanti