London Sevens: Fiji crowned back-to-back Sevens Series champions following Pool B qualification

Fiji are World Series Sevens champions for the 2015-2016 season, after gaining qualification for the Cup quarter-finals at the London Sevens

London Sevens: Fiji crowned back-to-back Sevens Series champions following Pool B qualification
Osea Kolinisau poses with the London Sevens and Series trophies (image via:

Fiji are World Series Sevens champions for the second time in two years, after gaining enough points on day one at Twickenham to see off the challenge of South Africa

The 26-0 victory over Australia which confirmed their back-to-back titles came thanks to tries from Kitione Taliga, Samisoni ViriviriJerry Tuwai and the captain, Osea Kolinisau

They will return on Sunday as one of eight Cup quarter-finalists, which includes England who topped Pool B following three opening day victories to please the 35,000 in attendance at the national stadium, with the hosts now meeting Scotland tomorrow for a place in the semi-finals, while Fiji will take on France

In the other two quarter-finals, South Africa will meet a rejuvinated Argentinian side, and New Zealand will face-off against the United States

Record-breaking Injera try doesn't stop Kenya's fall

Scotland and France have secured qualification from Pool C for the Cup quarter-finals, following final round victories in the evening session.

Scotland have wingers Jamie Farndale and James Fleming to thank for their win, after both scored twice in the 31-14 win over Portgual. Damien Hoyland also scored for the Scots, while there was a special moment for Portugal’s Pedro Leal, who scored his 100th World Series try in the defeat.

Carrying on their good form, France outclassed Kenya to win 29-12 to claim top spot in Pool B. France stormed out to a 19-0 lead at the break thanks to tries from Steeve Barry, Damien Cler and Pierre Lakafia, with Kenya having very few chances to reply. Virimi Vakatawa and Artur Retiere added scores after the break, before Kenya finally got on the board through skipper Andrew Amonde.  

Collins Injera celebrates breaking the Sevens try-scoring record (image via:

A moment of Sevens history was then created late in the game, when Kenya's Collins Injera became the all-time leading try scorer on the World Series Sevens circuit. Injera’s 231st try in his 66th Sevens event saw him pass Argentinian legend Santiago Gomez Cora at the top of the try-scoring list, and came via an assist from his brother Humphrey Kayange giving the vast amount of Kenyan fans something to cheer after a disappointing day results-wise. 

Collins Injera's record-breaking shirt being held aloft by his father at Twickenham (image via:

Baker's double books United States a quarter-final spot

The United States joined South Africa as the Cup quarter-finalists from Pool A after drawing 12-12 with North American rivals Canada. Perry Baker was at his scintillating best for the Americans once again, and it took him just five minutes to open the scoring.

That try shot Canada into life though, and needing a win to progress in the main competition, they grabbed a lead at the break through Conor Trainor.

Baker then took over the game once more, collecting the ball in his own half, before weaving his way past two would-be defenders, and then using his incredible speed to race away under the posts. Matt Mullins scored a 40 metre try of his own late on for Canada, but the 12-12 draw was not enough for them, meaning they will take part in Sunday’s Bowl quarter-finals.

Francois Hougaard was one of South Africa's four try scorers against Samoa (image via:

South Africa were already assured of a cup quarter-final spot before their match with Samoa, and they made it three wins from three, after prevailing 22-0. Dylan Sage scored the only try in the first seven minutes, before Francois Hougaard, Rosko Specman and Siviwe Soyizwapi all crossed after the break to condemn Samoa to their third straight defeat. 

Kiwis top Pool D following Puma draw

In a match involving two sides who had already confirmed their passage through to Sunday’s Cup quarter-final stage, New Zealand and Argentina drew 14-14 meaning the Kiwis top Pool D on points difference.

Rodrigo Etchart opened the scoring for the Pumas after latching onto his own kick, before New Zealand hit back instantly. Following a long break from Gillies Kaka, which saw him beat three men, he found Rieko Ioane on his shoulder, with the young Super Rugby star diving over for his fifth try of the tournament.

It was Argentina however who lead at the break, when Franco Sabato dotted down under the posts after breaking a pair of tackles in the New Zealand 22. The second-half saw just one try, which came from Regan Ware, and after the conversion from Kaka, the draw was confirmed.

Meanwhile, the two teams who had failed to qualify took part in a low-scoring affair, with Russia prevailing 14-5 over Brazil thanks to tries in either half from Denis Simplikevich

England top pool as Fijians celebrate Series victory

England made it three wins from three to confirm their spot at the head of Pool B following the first day's evening session at Twickenham. 

After trailing early to a try from Adam Thomas, England hit back with scores by Ollie Lindsay-Hague, Richard de Carpentier straight from the second half kickoff, Tom Bowen and Dan Norton to claim the 24-5 win over Wales, who finished bottom of the pool and drop into the Bowl.

Dan Norton scored the fourth try in England's win over Wales (image via:

The main celebrations belonged to Fiji though, who confirmed top spot in the overall rankings after seeing off Australia 26-0. 

After defending their line for a couple of phases, Fiji managed to secure the turnover allowing them to attack from under their posts. Kitione Taliga ran 70 metres before popping the ball to Samisoni Viriviri for the game’s opening try and a 5-0 lead.

With the half-time siren having sounded, Fiji made use of an attacking scrum to extend their lead to 12-0 at a break when Jerry Tuwai spotted a gap in the defence before diving over.

Taliga scored a try of his own with two minutes left on the clock, which helped to establish a 19-0 lead for the Fijians, putting the result, and the Series victory beyond doubt. It was then fitting that the skipper, Osea Kolinisau was the final man to score in the 26-0 win, handing Ben Ryan's men the overall Series win with a day of competition remaining.