England name four uncapped players in squad for Australian tour

There is no place for Chris Ashton in England's 26-man touring party for the upcoming three match series against Australia

England name four uncapped players in squad for Australian tour
Ben Te'o in action for Leinster in the Champions Cup (image via: guardian.com)

Eddie Jones has named four uncapped players in his 26-man squad for the upcoming England Rugby tour to Australia.

The three match series in June will be Jones' first tour in charge, and he has decided against selecting Danny Cipriani and Chris Ashton who have both been in good form recently. 

The series will be the first time England have faced Australia since being knocked out of last year's World Cup at the group stage. 

Genge leads trio of new forwards

Three of the new names in Jones' squad are from the forwards, with props Ellis Genge and Kyle Sinckler set to get their first taste of Test rugby. 

Ellis Genge has impressed during short time at Leicester (image via: telegraph)

Genge has only recently made a name for himself for Leicester following a move earlier this year from Championship side Bristol. Sinckler, meanwhile, has been a stand-out player for Harlequins over the final month of the campaign and has made his second tour in 12 months, after being involved in the England match against the Crusaders in Christchurch last year. 

A less surprising call-up has been awarded to Northampton Saints' back-rower Teimana Harrison. Following a breakthrough season in the Premiership, Harrison will battle it out with the established members of the squad for a starting birth down under. 

Te'o drafted in at first opportunity

The only uncapped back in the squad is soon-to-be Worcester Warrior Ben Te'o. The Auckland-born former NRL star has enjoyed two strong seasons for Leinster in the Pro12, and his impending move to the Warriors has seen him called up at the first opportunity by Jones. 

A ball-carrying inside centre with an ability to offload is something England have been looking for ever since drafting in one of Te'o's former teammates Sam Burgess. The pair played at South Sydney together, and Jones will be hopeful that this former Rugby League star works out better than Burgess did for Stuart Lancaster

Dylan Hartley will skipper the side once more following the Six Nations success, while Manu Tuilagi has been selected despite picking up a hamstring injury in Leicester's semi-final loss to Saracens on Saturday

Squad in full

Forwards: Dan Cole, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Jack Clifford, Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Teimana Harrison, Dylan Hartley, James Haskell, Paul Hill, Maro Itoje, George Kruis, Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, Matt Mullan, Chris Robshaw, Kyle Sinckler, Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola.

Backs: Mike Brown, Danny Care, Elliot Daly, Owen Farrell, George Ford, Alex Goode, Jonathan Joseph, Jack Nowell, Henry Slade, Ben Te'o, Manu Tuilagi, Anthony Watson, Marland Yarde, Ben Youngs.