Team GB Rugby Sevens squads announced for Rio Olympics

The Team GB men's and women's Rugby Sevens squads for the Rio Olympics have been unveiled

Team GB Rugby Sevens squads announced for Rio Olympics
Team GB Rugby Sevens squads announced for Rio Olympics (John Walton/PA Images)

The 24 rugby players who will take to the field for Team GB in Rio this summer are now known after the men's and women's squads were announced on Tuesday. 

After a two-month training camp which included three European tournaments, Simon Middleton and Simon Amor have unveiled their final squads. 

Davies and Bennett make final cut in men's squad

Selecting a final 12 from the 24-men available, Amor has gone with four 15-a-side players in his final squad. 

Welshman James Davies and Scotland's Mark Bennett join England duo Ollie Lindsay-Hague and Marcus Watson in making the cut following seasons in the longer form of the game. 

The remainder of the squad is dominated by England Sevens players which includes star duo Tom Mitchell and Dan Bibby who will orchestrate the British team around the field. 

James Rodwell has recovered from his injury which ruled him out of the final two legs of the World Series, with Wales' Sam Cross and Scottish Sevens stalwart Mark Robertson also making the final 12.

Team GB are up against Singapore Sevens champions Kenya, multiple-series winner New Zealand and Japan in their pool. 

Team GB men's squad: Mark Bennett, Dan Bibby, Phil Burgess, Sam Cross, Alex Davis, James Davies, Ollie Lindsay-Hague, Tom Mitchell, Dan Norton, James Rodwell, Mark Robertson & Marcus Watson. Travelling reserves: Luke Treharne & Ruaridh McConnocnie. 

Scarratt to captain women's squad 

England World Cup winner Emily Scarratt will captain the women's squad, where she will be joined in Rio by ten other English players. 

The only player selected from outside of England was Wales' winger Jasmine Joyce. 

The women's competition which begins on August 5th will see Team GB's women face Brazil, Canada and Japan in pool play. 

Team GB women squad: Claire Allan, Abbie Brown, Heather Fisher, Natasha Hunt, Jasmine Joyce, Katy McLean, Alice Richardson, Emily Scarratt, Emily Scott, Danielle Waterman, Joanne Watmore & Amy Wilson-Hardy. Travelling reserves: Megan Jones and Kay Wilson.