The Players preview: Tee times and which groups to follow in the opening two rounds
(Photo by Stan Badz/PGA TOUR via Getty Images)

The Players Championship gets underway on Thursday and here are both the tee times and groups that have been confirmed for the first two rounds. 

In the glorious seaside community of Ponte Vedra, Florida lies the TPC at Sawgrass, Stadium Course. The course is a par 72 and has a length of 7,189 yards. The current champion is Rory Mcilroy who won here in 2019. The 2020 tournament was cancelled after Hideki Matsuyama equalled the course record with a 63 in the first round due to the seriousness of the global pandemic. 

Embed from Getty Images

For this week there will be a 20 per cent capacity of tickets being sold as golf continues to feel the effects of the ongoing Coronavirus. 

Key groups to watch out for (all times GMT)

12:07 - Phil Mickelson, Charles Howell III, Tony Finau

For Phil Mickelson, this will be his first tournament where he is outside the world's top 100 since 1993. He joins fellow Americans Charles Howell III and Tony Finau

18:00 - Bryson DeChambeau, Collin Morikawa, Dustin Johnson

The three most recent major champions are all grouped together. Dustin Johnson secured the Masters with a record-breaking performance back in November, 2020. 

Collin Morikawa is the current PGA champion and Bryson DeChambeau won the US Open. DeChambeau will be looking to build on his Arnold Palmer Invitational victory last weekend. 

Embed from Getty Images

Tee times and groups

First tee

11:45 - Alex Noren, Xinjun Zhang, Doug Ghim

11:56 - Louis Oosthuizen, Lee Westwood, Robert MacIntyre

12:07 - Phil Mickelson, Charles Howell III, Tony Finau

12:18 Sungjae Im, Kevin Kisner, Henrik Stenson 

12:29 Keith Mitchell, Troy Merritt, Brice Garnett

12:40 Brian Gay, Michael Thompson, Sebastian Munoz

12:51 Cameron Smith, Dylan Frittelli, Keegan Bradley

13:02 Kevin Na, Carlos Ortiz, Matthew Fitzpatrick

13:13 Max Homa, JT Poston, Russell Knox

13:24 Stewart Cink, Nick Taylor, Austin Cook

13:35 Byeong Hun An, Henrik Norlander, Christiaan Bezuidenhout

13:46 Vaughn Taylor, Jerry Kelly, Joel Dahmen

13:57 Scott Brown, Sam Ryder

17:05 Cameron Tringale, Denny McCarthy, Matthew NeSmith

17:16 Brian Harman, Cameron Percy, Bernd Wiesberger

17:27 Martin Laird, Tyler Duncan, Joaquin Niemann

17:38 Richy Werenski, Aaron Wise, Kevin Streelman

17:49 Patrick Reed, Jon Rahm, Jordan Spieth

18:00 Bryson DeChambeau, Collin Morikawa, Dustin Johnson

18:11 Daniel Berger, Adam Scott, Shane Lowry 

18:22 Andrew Landry, Cameron Champ, Brendan Steele

18:33 Jason Kokrak, Francesco Molinari, Jason Day

18:44 Charley Hoffman, Rory Sabbatini, Cameron Davis

18:55 Matt Jones, Maverick McNealy, Will Zalatoris

19:06 Chris Kirk, Luke List, Bo Hoag

19:17 Brian Stuard, Danny Lee, Beau Hossler

10th tee

11:45 Kyle Stanley, Lucas Glover, Tyler McCumber

11:56 Russell Henley, Tom Hoge, Scottie Scheffler

12:07 CT Pan, Graeme McDowell, Matt Kuchar

12:18 Gary Woodland, Billy Horschel, Ian Poulter

12:29 Viktor Hovland, Patrick Cantlay, Justin Thomas

12:40 Sergio Garcia, Webb Simpson, Rory McIlroy

12:51 Si Woo Kim, Harris English, Hideki Matsuyama 

13:02 Tyrrell Hatton, Paul Casey, Xander Schauffele

13:13 Lanto Griffin, Corey Conners, Rickie Fowler

13:24 Brendon Todd, Adam Long, Andrew Putnam

13:35 Charl Schwartzel, Doc Redman, Harry Higgs

13:46 Sam Burns, Wyndham Clark, Victor Perez

13:57 Scott Stallings, Adam Schenk

17:05 Peter Malnati, Emiliano Grillo, Abraham Ancer 

17:16 Anirban Lahiri, Kyoung-Hoon Lee, Robby Shelton

17:27 Branden Grace, Sung Kang, Jimmy Walker

17:38 Hudson Swafford, Brandt Snedeker, Scott Piercy

17:49 Jim Herman, Ryan Armour, Mackenzie Hughes

18:00 Nate Lashley, Ryan Palmer, Zach Johnson

18:11 Robert Streb, Marc Leishman, Justin Rose

18:22 Chez Reavie, Bubba Watson, Pat Perez

18:33 Patton Kizzire, Jason Dufner, Kramer Hickok

18:44 James Hahn, Tommy Fleetwood, Harold Varner III

18:55 Adam Hadwin, Patrick Rodgers, Mark Hubbard