Germany name provisional squad for 2016 FIFA Under-17 Women's World Cup
Image credit:

One of the favourites for the 2016 FIFA under-17 Women's World Cup, Germany named a 25-strong provisional team to take into training camp.

The tournament starts in just over three weeks in Jordan, with the Germans heading into a training camp in Bad Blankenburg from 13th to 16th of September.

The squad, which also has five players on call, will be cut down to 21 for the tournament start.

Perfect preparation

Germany head to Jordan with their fifth UEFA European under-17 Championship under their belts, having beaten Spain 3-2 on penalties.

Player of the tournament, Caroline Siems scored the winning penalty and Leonie Doege saved two of the Spanish efforts to secure victory.

17 of the 18 players involved that day have made it into the 25-man squad, with Jessica May - who is on the reserve list - the only player to miss out.

Along with Siems and Doege, Germany have players with Frauen-Bundesliga experience in their side like Giulia Gwinn and Tanja Pawollek to name just two.

Germany Women's provisional under-17 squad in full

Goalkeepers: Leonie Doege (Bayer Leverkusen), Lisa Klostermann (FSV Gevelsberg), Janina Leitzig (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Charlotte Voll (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim).

Defenders: Noemi Gentile (SC Freiburg), Anna Hausdorff (Eintracht Bamberg), Sophia Kleinherne (FSV Gütersloh 2009), Sarai Linder (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Tanja Pawollek (1. FFC Frankfurt), Caroline Siems (Turbine Potsdam), Meret Wittje (VfL Wolfsburg).

Midfielders: Gina-Maria Chmielinski (Turbine Potsdam), Giulia Gwinn (SC Freiburg), Kristin Kögel (VfL Sindelfingen), Sydney Lohamnn (Bayern Munich), Janina Minge (SC Freiburg), Marie Müller (SC Freiburg), Lena Sophie Oberdorf (TSG Sprockhövel), Sophie Riepl (Bayern Munich), Lisa Schöppl (VfL Wolfsburg), Vanessa Ziegler (SC Freiburg).

Forwards: Klara Bühl (SC Freiburg), Annalena Rieke (FF USV Jena), Anna-Lena Stolze (VfL Wolfsburg), Verena Wieder (Bayern Munich). (25)

Reserves: Nicole Anyomi (SGS Essen), Janina Hechler (1. FFC Frankfurt), Jessica May (1. FFC Frankfurt), Lea Paulick (1. FC Nürnberg), Fatma Sakar (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim).