Mosconi Cup Teams: USA hoping to strike back
Van Boening and Bergman are back in the side (photo: Matchroom Pool)

Team USA have endured a torrid run in the Mosconi Cup over recent years. They have not won the competition since 2009 and that was their only success in the last ten. VAVEL preview the players who will be looking to bring the nightmare streak to a close.

Shane van Boening

The experienced campaigner will make his tenth appearance at Alexandra Palace for Team USA. Although his country only have an 11% win rate in the tournaments he has played in, van Boening has won 46% of his matches suggesting he is one of their most consistent performers. After a good season in USA and abroad, van Boening will be hoping to inspire his team to victory.

Van Boening was part of the 2009 winning side (photo: Inside Pool)
Van Boening was part of the 2009 winning side (photo: Inside Pool)

Mike Dechaine

Fireball has not been quite as impressive as van Boening in the Mosconi Cup. With three appearances to his name, he has won just three of 18 matches and never been on the winning side. Dechaine can count himself somewhat fortunate to be in the squad this year as results went his way during the Kuwait Open but he can be a dangerous player on his day.

Skyler Woodward

Woodward became a cult hero overnight after representing Team USA last year as their youngest ever player. 22-years old at the time, Woodward impressed on his way to two doubles wins although he did not register during his singles matches despite a couple of solid performances.

Rodney Morris

Not many players can match the Rocket's Mosconi Cup record and after an impressive season, captain Mark Wilson could not overlook the Hall of Famer. Like van Boening he will make his tenth appearance, although Morris has three Mosconi Cup's to his name. He has won 20 of 43 matches and will put Team Europe under pressure if he can roll back the years in London.

Justin Bergman

The second of Wilson's wildcards, Bergman is making his third successive appearance in the competition. He will be looking to build upon his three victories from nine matches in 2014 and 2015.