Four Spurs players included in PFA Team of the Year

Harry Kane, Dele Alli, Danny Rose and Toby Alderweireld have all been named in the PFA team of the season, making it the highest amount of Spurs players to be ever included.

Four Spurs players included in PFA Team of the Year
Kane and Alli celebrate together (source: Getty Images)

A quartet of Tottenham Hotspur players have been named in the PFA Team of the Season after outstanding performances for their club this season.

Mauricio Pochettino’s men currently sit in second place, only five points behind Leicester City who lead.

Tottenham's key players rewarded 

Harry Kane has scored 24 goals for his club so far this season, more than the whole of the relegated Aston Villa side (23) and looks to be the front-runner for the golden boot. He beat his tally for last season (21 goals) after being doubted by many critics after failing to find the back of the net for the first six games.

Midfielder Dele Alli however has taken the league by storm after securing a £5million pound move to the North London club last winter. Many expected the youngster to be loaned to a bottom half club in the summer yet he fought for his place and since has become a crucial player for Tottenham’s attack. The Englishman has since made his debut for England and looks set to be included in Roy Hodgson’s European Championship squad.

Danny Rose and Toby Alderweireld however are part of a Tottenham defence who have conceded only 25 goals this season. Alderweireld signed for Tottenham this summer, claiming that a major factor for the move was to reunite with childhood partner Jan Vertonghen from their time in the Ajax's academy. The Belgian has played every minute of domestic football for Tottenham this season and has scored four goals for the club. Rose however has been at the club since 2007. The left-back has made significant improvements under manager Pochettino.

Kane, Alli, Rose and Alderweireld are joined by David De Gea of Manchester United and Dimtri Payet from West Ham as well as four Leicester players in Wes Morgan, N’Golo Kante, Riyad Marhez and Jamie Vardy. The biggest shock from the team is the exclusion of Arsenal player Mesut Ozil for Dele Alli. Ozil was shortlisted for the Player of the Year award, while Alli made the list for Young Player of the Year. Kane has been nominated for both awards.

The 2015-2016 PFA Team of the Year (source: BBC Sports)


The PFA were forced to announce the Team of the Year early due to the page of the brochure with the teams was leaked on Twitter.  They have since commented, “we are seeking a detailed explanation from the brochure printers” as to how a member of the public gained a copy of the publication while they also called the leak “deliberate”.

The ceremony will take place on the evening of the 24th of April, yet it is still unclear whether the Tottenham players will go as the face West Brom the following day.