France name Euro 2016 squad
Deschamps has named his squad (photo: UEFA)

The French Football Federation have today announced the squad that national team manager Didier Deschamps has selected for the upcoming European Championship.

France are hosting the tournament for the third time in their history, and are amongst the favourites for the trophy. They join Albania, Switzerland and Romania in Group A, kicking off the tournament against the Romanians on June 11.

Expected, but notable, omissions for Sakho and Benzema

Deschamps' 23 man squad was announced on Thursday evening, with few shocks, but there were some notable exclusions. 

It's been known for a while that neither Karim Benzema or Mamadou Sakho would be selected. Benzema is currently suspended by the national team due to his involvement in an extortion scam regarding a sex tape of France teammate Mathieu Valbuena, whilst Sakho is currently undergoing a worldwide suspension from football as a failed drugs test is investigated.

There had been calls for Hatem Ben Arfa to be selected, with the attacking midfielder having enjoyed season in Ligue 1 for Nice. He's scored 17 goals in 33 games, but Deschamps has preferred a more familiar roster.

Ben Arfa has had a fantastic season, but is only on standby (photo: Getty Images)
Ben Arfa has had a fantastic season, but is only on standby (photo: Getty Images)

France boast an extremely talented squad

The attackers in his squad include talents such as Antoine Griezmann, a Champions League finalist with Atletico Madrid, and Bayern Munich youngster Kingsley Coman.

Further back, Tottenham Hotspur captain Hugo Lloris will captain the side, with the likes of Patrice Evra, Raphael Varane and Jeremy Mathieu amongst the defensive selections to play in front of him.

Lloris is one of nine Premier League players selected in the squad, with title winner N'Golo Kante called up. Laurent Koscielny, Dimitri Payet and Anthony Martial are all in the squad.

Squad in full

Lloris, Costil, Mandanda; Evra, Jallet, Mathieu, Sagna, Varana, Digne, Koscielny, Mangala; Cabaye, Diarra, Matuidi, Sissoko, Pogba, Kante; Payet, Giroud, Griezmann, Coman, Gignac, Martial.

Reserve squad: Areola, Ben Arfa, Gameiro, Lacazette, Rabiot, Schneiderlin, Sidibe, Umtiti.