England Women squad announced for the June Euro 2017 Qualifiers

Mark Sampson has announced his 23-player squad, ready for the qualifiers against Serbia. England play Serbia at home at Adams Park on 4th June, and away on 7th June.

Last time in the group stage, England drew 1-1 with Belgium at home and then won narrowly away against Bosnia and Herzegovina with a 1-0 scoreline. England have faced Serbia before in European Championship aualifiers, back in 2011, when they drew 2-2 then won 2-0.

Key changes

The omissions in this squad are big. Claire Rafferty, Toni Duggan, Eniola Aluko, Katie Chapman and Dan Carter have missed out after being included last time.

Jodie Taylor and Isobel Christiansen both return from injury and come into the side. Jade Moore was also injured for a considerable amount of time but has been making appearances from the bench for Birmingham.

There have also been a second call up for two players. Firstly, Nikita Parris who has been in fine form in the WSL. Secondly, Rachel Daly who has been making waves in the NWSL, is in the squad. She last made it into the La Manga training squad back in 2014.

Fran Kirby makes it into the squad again. She is the current top goalscorer in the WSL but will she be starting or will she be on the bench again? The goalkeeper selection is unchanged from the last few squads.

England squad in full

Goalkeepers: Karen Bardsley (Manchester City), Siobhan Chamberlain (Liverpool), Carly Telford (Notts County).

Defenders: Laura Bassett (Notts County), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City), Gilly Flaherty (Chelsea), Alex Greenwood (Liverpool), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Alex Scott (Arsenal), Demi Stokes (Manchester City), Casey Stoney (Arsenal).

Midfielders: Isobel Christiansen (Manchester City), Jade Moore (Birmingham City), Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Fara Williams (Arsenal).

Forwards: Karen Carney (Chelsea), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash), Gemma Davison (Chelsea), Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Nikita Parris (Manchester City), Jodie Taylor (Arsenal), Ellen White (Notts County).