Carabao Cup first round draw in full
Manchester City celebrate after winning the 2019/20 Carabao Cup Final against Aston Villa at Wembley Stadium. | Photo by Richard Calver/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images

The 2020/21 Carabao Cup campaign will begin with a regionalised batch of first round fixtures on Saturday 5 and Sunday 6 September, kick-starting the new EFL season. Debutants Harrogate Town have been drawn to face fellow League Two outfit Tranmere Rovers at Prenton Park, while National League champions AFC Barrow face a trip to Philip Cocu’s Derby County.

Following their final-day in the Championship last season, Barnsley will host Nottingham Forest in round one, while 2002 champions Blackburn Rovers were handed a favourable draw against League One side Doncaster Rovers. Hull City, relegated from the Championship last season, will face League One rivals Sunderland.

Embed from Getty Images

In the southern section of the draw, Brentford will host Wycombe Wanderers, while Daniel Farke’s Norwich City face a trip to Luton Town. Newly-promoted Coventry City will take a short trip to Milton Keynes Dons in the round one, while Southend United face a similarly short trip to Gillingham Town.

If both clubs agree, fixtures can be moved so that they take place before the first international break of the season – which is due to begin on Monday 31 August.

Due to fixture congestion caused by the Covid-19 pandemic, the Carabao Cup semi-finals will be played over one leg, rather than the two-legged format that has been used previously.

The Carabao Cup draw in full:

Northern Draw

Tranmere Rovers vs Harrogate Town

Crewe Alexandre vs Lincoln City

Walsall vs Sheffield Wednesday

Rochdale vs Huddersfield Town

Preston North End vs Mansfield Town

Bolton Wanderers vs Bradford City

Blackburn Rovers vs Doncaster Rovers

Stoke City vs Blackpool

Fleetwood Town vs Wigan Athletic

Grimsby Town vs Morecambe

Middlesbrough vs Shrewsbury Town

Derby County vs Barrow

Scunthorpe United vs Port Vale

Sunderland AFC vs Hull City

Burton Albion vs Accrington Stanley

Salford City vs Rotherham United

Barnsley vs Nottingham Forest

Oldham Athletic vs Carlisle United

Southern Draw

Bristol City vs Exeter City

Plymouth Argyle vs Queens Park Rangers

Swindon Town vs Charlton Athletic

Forest Green Rovers vs Leyton Orient

MK Dons vs Coventry City

Crawley Town vs Millwall

Stevenage Town vs Portsmouth

Peterborough United vs Cheltenham Town

Brentford vs Wycombe Wanderers

Northampton Town vs Cardiff City

Luton Town vs Norwich City

Birmingham City vs Cambridge United

Newport County vs Swansea City

Oxford United vs AFC Wimbledon

Reading vs Colchester United

Gillingham Town vs Southend United

Ipswich Town vs Bristol Rovers