Pia Sundhage reveals Sweden's Euro Squad

Following in the footsteps of Denmark and Spain over the last 24 hours, Sweden have released the list of 23 players who’ll compete in yellow and blue in the Netherlands next month.

Few surprises 

With ACL injuries to Emilia Appelqvist and Sofia Jakobsson earlier in the year, Pia Sundhage was always going to have to find a solution to losing two important players, the problem of who to replace Jakobsson a pressing one. Having tried out Lina Hurtig and Mimmi Larsson as [very different] attacking the Eskilstuna woman was preferred, Hurtig having opted to sit out the last camp with a recurrent foot problem.

Further down the pitch Julia Spetsmark makes the grade despite her stark lack of playing time for the seniors, the soon-to-be 28-year-old the least capped of the entire squad though she caught the eye for Sweden in her last outing as she has been dazzling for KIF this season. Elsewhere in midfield, Hanna Folkesson and Josefin Johansson both get the nod and will provided much-needed depth during the tournament, although the defence remains a man light after regular full-back substitute Hanne Gråhns withdrew from international consideration as she struggled to balance out her studies. With light speculation over the third-choice goalkeeper, Sundhage has stuck with United’s number one, Emelie Lundberg over FCR’s Zecira Musovic.

Following a fantastic run at the last major tournament (Rio 2016), all eyes will be on Sweden to produce similar performances in Holland, balance key for Blågult, their first match in the Netherlands one of the toughest they could face as they kick the group stages off against Germany.

The full team

Goalkeepers: Hilda Carlen (Piteå IF), Hedvig Lindahl (Chelsea), Emelie Lundberg (Eskilstuna United).

Defenders: Jonna Andersson (Linköping), Emma Berglund (FC Rosengård), Magdalena Eriksson (Linköping), Nilla Fischer (VfL Wolfsburg), Hanna Glas (Eskilstuna United), Jessica Samuelsson (Linköping), Linda Sembrant (Montpellier HSC).

Midfielders: Kosovare Asllani (Manchester City), Lisa Dahlkvist (KIF Örebro), Hanna Folkesson (FC Rosengård), Josefin Johansson (Piteå IF), Elin Rubensson (Kopparbergs/Göteborg), Olivia Schough (Eskilstuna United), Caroline Seger (Olympique Lyonnais), Julia Spetsmark (KIF Örebro).

Attackers: Stina Blackstenius (Montpellier HSC), Pauline Hammarlund (Kopparbergs/Göteborg), Mimmi Larsson (Eskilstuna United), Fridolina Rolfö (Bayern München), Lotta Schelin (FC Rosengård).