Ospreys' forward Tyler Ardron to lead Canada after World Cup squad announced
Jamie Cudmore will be the most recognisable Canadian at Rugby World Cup 2015 (image via: thestar.com)

Ospreys back-rower Tyler Aldron has been confirmed as the Canadian captain for the 2015 Rugby World Cup

Aldron is in the squad alongside his Osprey team-mate Jeff Hassler, after impressive seasons for the pair of them whilst playing with the Swansea-based club. 

After a solid showing at the 2011 World Cup, where they beat Tonga, and drew with Japan, Canada will be confident of suprising the other teams in their European-dominated pool.

Cudmore to join elite club

Clermont Auvergne superstar Jamie Cudmore is Canada's most recognisable player, after a number of excellent seasons for the French club. Now heading to his fourth World Cup, Cudmore joins a list of players who are all synonymous with Canadian rugby. 

Gareth Rees, Rod Snow, Mike James and Al Charron are the only other Maple Leaf players to have appeared at four different World Cup tournaments. 

Alongside Cudmore in the 2015 squad are the likes of DTH van der Merwe and Aaron Carpenter who will be appearing in their third World Cup's if they take to the field.

Head coach Kieran Crowley said of the players, "They bring a wealth of experience."

"Jamie's been around a long time and Jebb Sinclair and Jason Marshall were both in the last World Cup. You can't beat experience and it will add a lot to the group."

European quadruple await Crowley's side

Crowley, a winner of the 1987 World Cup with New Zealand, must steer his side past four European sides if they are to qualify for the knockout stages. 

Starting off with a match against one of the tournament favourites, when they face Ireland at the Millennium Stadium, Canada then head north to take on Italy at Elland Road in Leeds on the first two Saturday's of competition. 

Canada then travel to Milton Keynes where they take on a rejuvenated French side, before finishing their pool matches at the Leicester City Stadium when they go head-to-head with Romania

Squad in full:

Props: Hubert Buydens, Jason Marshall, Djustice Sears-Duru, Andrew Tiedemann, Doug Woolridge.

Hookers: Ray Barkwill, Aaron Carpenter, Benoit Piffero. 

Locks: Brett Beukeboom, Jamie Cudmore, Evan Olmstead. 

Loose Forwards: Nanyak Dala, Kyle Gilmour, John Moonlight, Jebb Sinclair, Tyler Aldron, Richard Thorpe.

Scrum-Halves: Phil Mack, James Mackenzie, Gordon McRorie.

Fly-Halves: Nathan Hirayama, Liam Underwood. 

Centres: Nick Blevins, Connor Braid, Ciaran Hearn, Conor Trainor.

Outside Backs: Jeff Hassler, Phil Mackenzie, DTH van der Merwe, Matt Evans, Harry Jones.