Teammates Highlight Week 9 MLS Team Of The Week
Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Soccer announced their Team of the Week for Week 9 and to no surprise it was littered with Rave Green. Three members of the Seattle Sounders FC were selected to the team and another pair was selected to the bench after the club’s big 3-1 win over New York City FC at Yankee Stadium on Sunday night.

Obafemi Martins scored twice and added an assist on the other goal in the win on Sunday. Defenders Chad Marshall and Dylan Remick were also selected to the squad. Marshall had another dominant performance at center back to earn his second Team of the Week honor of the season.

MLS Player of the Month Benny Feilhaber earned his third Team of the Week honor with another very good game on Sunday against the Chicago Fire. Feilhaber was unlucky to get on the scoresheet as he puts his fellow teammates into great scoring positions including a beautiful ball to Dom Dwyer which was headed just over the bar in the 31st minute.

Sporting Kansas City goalkeeper Tim Melia was also named to the Team of the Week after recording three saves and a clean sheet in his Sporting Kansas City debut. Melia spent the last half of 2014 as the pool goalkeeper for the league before being signed by Sporting last December.

FC Dallas saw two of their midfielders make the Team of the Week as well after their big 4-1 win in the Texas Derby over Houston Dynamo on Friday night. Mauro Diaz and Fabian Castillo each notched a goal and two assists in the victory, it is Diaz’s second Team of the Week while Castillo now leads the league with four appearances on the MLS Team of the Week.

DC United also saw two members of their team make the squad after their 2-0 win over Columbus Crew SC. Bobby Boswell played a spectacular defensive game holding the Crew to a shutout while Fabian Espindola played a part in both of the goals on Saturday afternoon.

Week Nine MLS Team of the Week

(4-4-2): Tim Melina; London Woodberry, Bobby Boswell, Chad Marshall, Dylan Remick; Sebastian Giovinco, Benny Feilhaber, Mauro Diaz, Fabian Castillo; Obafemi Martins, Fabian Espindola