2018 Formula 1 calendar unveiled featuring unique triple header

The FIA has released a draft 21 race calendar for the 2018 Formula 1 season, with the sport set to have its first 'Triple-Header' of Grand Prix. 

The returning French GP has been given a date of June 24th, with the Austrian GP due to take place a week later on July 1st, with Silverstone once again hosting the British GP on July 8th. 

It is the first time that the sport will have attempted to run three races back-to-back-to-back. 

Also noticeable is the German GP being on the calendar, after being dropped for 2017, due to be held at Hockenheim on July 22nd. 

Malaysia, as expected drops off the calendar, meaning the schedule will match the record breaking 21 events seen in 2016. 

Azerbaijan is promoted up the calendar to host the fourth round of the season, while the race in Russia which held that slot in '16 and '17 is moved back to a late season slot. 

The final race before the traditional summer break will be the Hungarian GP on July 29th. 

Liberty uphold promise for traditional races 

When Liberty Media, and Chase Carey took the reins of F1 from Bernie Ecclestone, they promised to maintain the European heartlands of the sport, and this is what they have done. 

Carey said: "We wanted to finalise next season's calendar early, so that all our stakeholders would have more time to prepare, and we have managed it, thanks in part through working closely with the FIA.

"We are proud to confirm that the German and French Grand Prix will take place in 2018", continued Carey. "France was one of the seven races that made up the first ever World Championship in 1950 and it now returns after a decade, at the Paul Ricard Circuit."

There were reports that Turkey wished to once again host a Grand Prix, having last done so in 2011, and Carey confirmed that "we received numerous requests from those wishing to host a Grand Prix, but we wanted the existing promoters to feel we are putting all our efforts into ensuring each race is a special event, so that the fans, our most important stakeholders, can enjoy a unique and unforgettable experience."

Greater harmony among sporting calendars

FIA President Jean Todt added that "alongside our partners in Formula 1 and across the FIA's major championships, we have been working hard in recent months to achieve greater harmony among the various sporting calendars and reaching an agreement on the 2018 Formula 1 schedule is part of this ongoing process."

The Le Mans 24 Hours will take place the week before the French GP, on June 16-17 at Circuit de la Sarthe, but Bahrain, Azerbaijan, Canada, Britain and Hungary will clash with Formula E races. 

There will be 11 races in Europe, including Azerbaijan and Russia, four in the Americas, three in the far-east, two in the middle-east and one in Oceania. Once again, Africa will be the only inhabited continent not to host a race. 

Provided that all 21 races are confirmed, that will take the total number of Grand Prix held to 997, with the 1000th race due to be the third round of the 2019 season. 

2018 Formula 1 Calendar

Race Location Track Dates
Australian Grand Prix Melbourne Albert Park 23-25 March
Chinese Grand Prix  Shanghai Shanghai International Circuit 6-8 April
Bahrain Grand Prix Sakhir Sakhir International Circuit 13-15 April
Azerbaijan Grand Prix  Baku Baku City Circuit 27-29 April
Spanish Grand Prix  Barcelona Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya 11-13 May
Monaco Grand Prix Monte Carlo Monaco  24-27 May
Canadian Grand Prix Montreal Circuit Gilles Villeneuve 8-10 June
French Grand Prix  Le Castellet  Paul Ricard 22-24 June
Austrian Grand Prix  Speilberg Red Bull Ring 29 June - 1 July
British Grand Prix  Silverstone Silverstone Circuit 6-8 July
German Grand Prix Hockenheim Hockenheimring 20-22 July
Hungarian Grand Prix Budapest Hungaroring 27-29 July
Belgian Grand Prix  Spa Spa-Francorchamps 24-26 August
Italian Grand Prix  Monza  Autodromo Nazionale Monza 31 August - 2 September
Singapore Grand Prix  Singapore Marina Bay Street Circuit 14-16 September
Russian Grand Prix Sochi Sochi Autodrome 28-30 September
Japanese Grand Prix Suzuka Suzuka International Racing Circuit  5-7 October
United States Grand Prix  Austin - Texas Circuit of the Americas  19-21 October
Mexican Grand Prix  Mexico City Circuit Hermanos Rodriguez 26-28 October
Brazilian Grand Prix  Sao Paulo Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace - Interlagos 9-11 November
Abu Dhabi Grand Prix  Abu Dhabi Abu Dhabi    23-15 November