Highlights: Athletics Men's 10,000m Final in Olympics Tokyo 2020
Image: VAVEL

ADVERTISEMENT

8:35 AM2 months ago

Thanks!

With the awarding of prizes to the first three competitors, we end our coverage of the finals of the men's 10,000 meters in athletics at these Olympic Games. Thank you for following us! Follow us here at VAVEL.com to stay informed about the world of sport.
8:30 AM2 months ago

Top 10 of carreer

🥇 Selemon Barega (Ethiopia) - 27:43.22

🥈 Joshua Cheptegei (Uganda) - 27:43.63

🥉 Jacob Kiplimo (Uganda) - 27:43.08

4️⃣ Berihu Aregawi (Ethiopia) - 27:46.16

5️⃣ Grant Fisher (United States) - 27:46.39

6️⃣ Mohammed Ahmed (Canada) - 27:47.76

7️⃣ Rodgers Kwemoi (Kenya) - 27:50.06

8️⃣ Yomif Kejelcha (Ethiopia) - 27:52.03

9️⃣ Rhonex Kipruto (Kenya) - 27:52.78

🔟 Morhad Amdouni (France) - 27:53.58

8:04 AM2 months ago

SELEMON BAREGA WINS!

TRIUMPH FOR ETHIOPE! 27:43.22, the cumulative time. Cheptegei and Kiplimo were left at the end, but they get the silver and bronze medals.
8:01 AM2 months ago

¡LAST LAP!

The race is coming to a close. The group is down to eight runners, the finish is coming!
8:00 AM2 months ago

2 laps to go

The end is near! The runners increase the speed.
7:59 AM2 months ago

4 laps to go

Even pace in the group, watch out for Mohammed Ahmed! Cheptegei is among the first also.
7:56 AM2 months ago

6 laps to go

Kipruto is still the leader, but he keeps up with the group, he has not taken distance.
7:54 AM2 months ago

9 laps to go

Kenya takes the lead! Rhones Kipruto is the new race leader. Stephen Kissa retires and ends his participation.
7:51 AM2 months ago

First retreat

Briton Sam Atkin suffered a cramp and did not continue in the race. Twenty-four riders remain.
7:49 AM2 months ago

5000 meters!

14:08 has been the time at the halfway point of the race.
7:48 AM2 months ago

14 laps to go

The group is hunting Stphen Kissa. The Ugandan is barely 10 meters ahead of them.
7:45 AM2 months ago

16 laps to go

Kissa fue alcanzado por sus dos perseguidores, pero tomó un segundo aire y les sacó distancia nuevamente.
7:44 AM2 months ago

Two rivals approaching

Kipruto (Kenya) and Barega (Ethiopia) break away from the main group and go hunting for Kissa.
7:41 AM2 months ago

Five minutes of running

Kissa continues to maintain a good distance and a good pace, but there is still a long way to go. Kenyans Kwemoi and Kipruto are leading the main group.
7:37 AM2 months ago

Stephen Kissa's big advantage

The Ugandan has a lead of about 50 meters over the rest of the field at the start of the race.
7:35 AM2 months ago

Carreer start!

The 10,000m race in athletics gets underway.
7:34 AM2 months ago

Presentation

The organization presents each of the runners. The start is coming.
7:31 AM2 months ago

The athletes are coming out!

The 25 runners who will compete in the race are already on the athletic track of the Olympic Stadium. The race is about to start.
7:28 AM2 months ago

Medal table - Top 5

1- China PR - 🥇x18 | 🥈 x9 | 🥉 x 11 | Total = 38
2- Japan - 🥇x16 | 🥈 x4 | 🥉 x 7 | Total = 27
3- United States - 🥇x14 | 🥈 x16 | 🥉 x 11 | Total = 41
4- ROC - 🥇x10 | 🥈 x13 | 🥉 x 10 | Total = 33
5- Australia - 🥇x9 | 🥈 x2 | 🥉 x 11 | Total = 22
7:10 AM2 months ago

Olympic record

The Olympic record is currently held by Ethiopia's Kenenisa Benkele, who clocked 27:01:17 at the 2008 Beijing Olympics on August 17.
7:05 AM2 months ago

World record

The world record is currently held by Uganda's Joshua Cheptegei, with 26:11:00, a mark he set in Valencia, Spain, on October 7, 2020. In addition, with this mark, he has established himself as the best record by an African athlete.
7:00 AM2 months ago

We start

We are ready to bring you the actions of this 10,000-meter track and field race.
6:55 AM2 months ago

Tune in here of the Athletics 10,000m final Live Results

In a few moments we will share with you live coverage of the 10,000 meters race, as well as the latest information from the Olympic Stadium in Tokyo. Don't miss any detail of the match with VAVEL's minute-by-minute live online coverage.
6:50 AM2 months ago

How to watch the 10,000m track and field race Live Stream on TV and Online?

If you want to watch it via streaming, your option is: Olympic TV.

If you want to watch it online, VAVEL USA is your best option!

6:45 AM2 months ago

What time is the men's 10,000 meters competition?

This is the start time of the competition this on July 28, 2021 in several countries:

Argentina: 08:30 hrs.
Bolivia: 07:30 hrs.
Brasil: 08:30 hrs.
Chile: 08:30 hrs.
Colombia: 06:30 hrs.
Ecuador: 06:30 hrs.
España: 13:30 hrs.
Mexico: 06:30 hrs.
Paraguay: 07:30 hrs.
Peru: 06:30 hrs.
Uruguay: 08:30 hrs.

6:40 AM2 months ago

⭐ Favorite: Yomif Kejelcha (Ethiopia)

Placed 32nd at 2016 Olympic Games, 18th in 2012. At World Cup, finished 9th in 2013, 8th in 2017 and 6th in 2019. 

Gold at 2015 PanAm Games and silver at 2018 CWG.

In other events: 4th in 5000m at 2016 Olympic Games.

In World Cup 5,000m final, 12th in 2015, 9th in 2016, 6th in 2017 and 3rd in 2019. Four-time 5,000m winner at National Champion and silver in 2018 CWG.

Spent first 10 years of his life in Kenya before Canada move.

6:35 AM2 months ago

⭐ Favorite: Yomif Kejelcha (Ethiopia)

Making Olympic Games debut. Silver at 2019 World Cup.

In other events: gold in 3000m at 2018, 2016 Indoor World Cup. Won 3000m at Bislett Games in 2021 Diamond League. 

In 2019 season, won 5000m Diamond League events at Athletissima and Shanghai. 

Gold in 3000m at 2014 Youth Olympic Games and in 5000m at 2014 Junior World Cup.

In 2019, he was named Men's Indoor Athlete of the Year by Track and Field News.

6:30 AM2 months ago

⭐ Favorite: Joshua Cheptegei (Uganda)

Finished 6th at 2016 Olympic Games; Gold at 2019 World Cup, silver in 2017, 9th in 2015.

Gold at 2018 CWG. Gold at 2014 Junior World Cup. 

Current World Record holder. 

In other events: 8th in 5000m at 2016 OG. Gold in 5000m at 2018 CWG.

Current World Record holder in 5000m. 

He became the first world champion in the 10,000m for Uganda when he won gold at 2019 World Cup in Doha, Qatar.

6:25 AM2 months ago

Start list

  1. Tatsuhiko Ito - Japón
  2. Aron Kifle - Eritrea
  3. Joe Kecker - Estados Unidos
  4. Isaac Kimeli - Bélgica
  5. Gran Fisher - Estados Unidos
  6. Joshua Cheptegei - Uganda
  7. Mohammed Ahmed - Canadá
  8. Kieran Tutivate - Tailandia
  9. Berihu Aregawi - Etiopía
  10. Stephen Kissa - Uganda
  11. Sam Atkin - Gran Bretaña
  12. Rodgers Kwemoi - Kenia
  13. Carlos Mayo - España
  14. Weldon Langat - Kenia
  15. Yomif Kejelcha - Etiopía
  16. Morhad Amdouni - Francia
  17. Yemaneberhan Crippa - Italia
  18. Akira Aizawa - Japón
  19. Selemon Barega - Etiopía
  20. William Kincaid - Estados Unido
  21. Marc Scott - Reino Unido
  22. Jacob Kiplimo - Uganda
  23. Julien Wanders - Suiza
  24. Patrick Tiernand - Australia
  25. Rhonex Kipruto - Kenia
6:20 AM2 months ago

The competition preview

Athletics starts in Tokyo 2020! The 10,000m final is one of the most anticipated events in the sport and therefore one of the toughest. Only 27 athletes have qualified for this competition, but many more have had to resign themselves to watching the competition from home, missing out by a few seconds, even with their best times.
6:15 AM2 months ago

Stadium

The 10,000-meter track and field race will be held at the Tokyo Olympic Stadium, located in Kasumigaoka, Shinjuku, in Tokyo, Japan. It has a capacity of up to 80,000 spectators.
6:10 AM2 months ago

Welcome to VAVEL.com’s coverage of the Tokyo 2020 Athletics 10,000m finals: Live Updates!

My name is Jhonatan Martinez and I’ll be your host for this game live. We will provide you with pre-game analysis, score updates, and news as it happens live here on VAVEL.
VAVEL Logo