Rio 2016: Team GB win Men's Team Sprint gold on dominant opening night in the Rio Velodrome

Team GB made the perfect start to life in the Rio Velodrome, claiming gold in Men's Team Sprint with an Olympic Record time. 42.440, 42.542

The trio of Philip Hindes, Jason Kenny and Callum Skinner beat the New Zealand team in a hotly-contested final to land Britain's fourth gold medal of the Rio Olympic Games so far. 

Elsewhere on the opening night in the Velodrome, Britain's women and men both qualified fastest in the Team Pursuit ahead of their final's later this week, with the women claiming a World Record in the process. 

British triumvirate strike gold in thrilling victory

Despite having two of the three riders still intact from the 2012 winning unit from the London Olympics, Team GB did not come into this event as favourties for gold.

Their opponents for the final, New Zealand had that honour and they lived up to the favourtie tag in the qualification round earlier in the evening, taking top spot with a then Olympic Record of 42.535. 

The New Zealand trio on their way to silver (image via: David Ramos/Getty)

The two finalists then eased through to the final with the top two times in round two, setting up a mouthwatering matchup to bring down the curtain on the opening evening of competition.

Starting behind an incredible lap by 2012 champ Philip Hindes, now four-time Olympic champion Jason Kenny took over and moved Britain into the lead while handing off to Olympic debutant Callum Skinner.

The 23-year-old from Glasgow managed to bring home the gold, and taking back the Olympic Record in the process as Britain made the best possible start to track cycling in the velodrome.

Pursuit teams qualify fastest

Britain's sprint gold was good enough on day one, but their Pursuit teams also impressed, claiming top spots in both qualification groups. 

The men's team of Bradley Wiggins, Owain Doull, Steven Burke and Ed Clancy took top spot with a scorching time of 3:51:943, with Ashes rivals Australia down in third with a surprisngly slow time of 3:55:606. 

The Team Pursuit men on their way to the fastest qualifying round (image via: telegraph)

The women's team of Laura Trott, Joanna Rowsell-Shand, Katie Archibald and Elinor Barker went one better than their male adversaries, claiming a new World Record time of 4:13:260 to top the rankings in round one.