Alabama RB Derrick Henry Walks Away With 2015 Heisman Trophy After Record-Breaking Season

Alabama RB Derrick Henry Walks Away With 2015 Heisman Trophy After Record-Breaking Season

Henry broke the all-time rushing record with the No. 2 Crimson Tide in 2015.

Zach Drapkin

And Alabama Crimson Tide running back Derrick Henry is your 2015 Heisman Trophy winner, America.

Henry walked away with the award over No. 1 Clemson's Deshaun Watson and No. 6 Stanford's Christian McCaffrey on Saturday night at New York City's PlayStation Theatre. He became the first Alabama player to win the award since running back Mark Ingram took it home in 2009.

A Dominant Year By Henry

It sure was a very deserving year for Henry to win it, as he led all of college football in rushing yards and touchdowns with an NCAA record of 1986 yards and 23 touchdowns to lead the Crimson Tide to the College Football Playoff.

The junior took home numerous awards Thursday night to precede the Heisman, as the NCAA presented him with the Maxwell Award, the Walter Camp Award, and the Doak Walker Award, coining him the Best Football Player in the nation by multiple panels as well as college football's Best Running Back.

Henry also led Alabama to a 12-1 record and a big SEC Championship victory over the Florida Gators last week. He finished only behind rivals LSU's running powerhouse Leonard Fournette.

The Nation's Finest - A Class Act

Henry gave a very thankful and acknowledging speech following his presentation with the award, praising god and his mother for his success. He also made sure to note that he feels he is a living testament to the mantra "If you can believe it, you can achieve it."

The season is not over for Henry and the Tide, as they have a big Cotton Bowl game coming up on New Year's Day in Dallas, Texas against 12-1 No. 3 Michigan State, who found its way back into the Playoff race with huge victories over undefeated Ohio State and then undefeated Iowa in the Big Ten Championship.