World T20: Recap of the 2009 tournament

Pakistan beat Sri Lanka in the Lord's final to pick up their first major title in 17 years, and go one better than they had manage in the inaugural World T20 two years previously.

World T20: Recap of the 2009 tournament
Pakistan celebrate victory in the 2009 World Twenty20 competition (image via:

The second-running of the World Twenty20 tournament took place in 2009, with England hosting the 27-game event. 

The fortnights cricket was certainly memorable for a number of reasons which helped the game of Twenty20 cricket to ascend on the world stage. 

From England's embarrassing final-ball defeat to the Netherlands on opening night, to the introduction of the Dilscoop, this tournament had it all, with Pakistan eventually coming out on top to claim what has been their only World T20 triumph to date. 

Dutch knock off England in final-ball thriller

With expectations high surrounding the England side, a commanding victory was hoped for the opening game of the tournament against minnows, Holland at Lord's. 

The contrasting emotions following a memorable World T20 moment (image via: cricinfo)

However, it proved to be a horror night for the hosts, who suffered defeat from the final-ball of the game, after Tom de Grooth had hit a match-winning knock of 49 for the men in Orange. A meltdown from Stuart Broad allowed the Dutch to complete the seven runs they needed from the final over to claim a famous victory. 

England recovered in their second group game, beating eventual winners Pakistan by 48 runs at The Oval, to join Younis Khan's men in the Super 8's after they beat the Dutch by 82 in the group's final fixture. 

Defending 2007 champions India qualified easily from Group A with two straight victories, and they were joined in the Super 8's by Ireland, who beat Bangladesh by six wickets at Trent Bridge to progress. 

Group C saw Australia knocked-out after they were defeated by both Sri Lanka and the West Indies. The Aussies were blitzed by Chris Gayle at The Oval in their opening game, with the big-hitting opener scoring 88 from 50 balls in the seven wicket victory. 

In Group D, qualification went as expected, with South Africa and New Zealand heading through to the Super 8's at the expense of Scotland

Dilshan finds form as Sri Lanka book final spot against Pakistan

The two Super 8 groups saw hosts England and tournament favourites India knocked out, alongside dark horses New Zealand and minnows Ireland. That left the final four to face off for a place in the grand finale, with the sub-continental sides eventually coming out on top. 

The first semi-final at Trent Bridge saw Shahid Afridi smash a swashbuckling 51 in Pakistan's seven run victory over a previously-unbeaten South African side. Coming in at three, Afridi coped best on a tough pitch, smashing eight boundaries in his 34 ball innings to help Pakistan post 149-4 from their 20 overs. 

In response, South Africa lived up to their choker tags once more, falling short by seven runs despite 64 from Jacques Kallis

The second semi was all about one man, Tillakaratne Dilshan. His unbeaten 96 carved the backbone of Sri Lanka's innings of 158-5, which proved to be much to big a total for the West Indies. They were eventually dismissed for a paltry 101, handing Sri Lanka victory by 57 runs, despite Gayle becoming the first batsman to carry his bat throughout an entire T20 international innings with his unbeaten 63. 

Afridi comes good again as Pakistan grab the trophy

Following his blistering innings just two days previously, a lot was expected of Dilshan, but his influence on the final was over within the first five balls of the match. After winning the toss and electing to bat, Sri Lanka got off to the worst possible start and never really recovered, in a final that flattered to deceive. 

Dilshan, who was named player of the tournament, had faced four dot balls from Mohammad Amir to start the game, before bringing out his famed 'Dilscoop' shot on the fifth ball of the final, only for it to balloon straight to short fine-leg where he was caught for a duck. 

Sri Lanka managed to resurrect their innings somewhat, thanks to an unbeaten 64 from Kumar Sangakkara, but their total of 138-6 was never likely to be enough unless they picked up a bunch of early wickets. 

Those wickets were too few and far between for Pakistan to ever really worry during their chase, and Afridi's 54 not out proved to be the pivotal knock in the final, which saw him awared the man-of-the-match. 

The triumph was Pakistan's first in a major tournament since their 1992 World Cup victory,  and helped the side overcome the loss they had suffered in the final two years previously.