Hopman Cup: Lucie Safarova And Jiri Vesely To Represent Czech Republic
Safarova at this year's Hopman Cup. Tony Ashby/AFP

Hopman Cup: Lucie Safarova And Jiri Vesely To Represent Czech Republic

Lucie Safarova will be competing in her second consecutive Hopman Cup while Vesely makes his debut.

Noel John Alberto

Lucie Safarova will be returning to Perth once again as she’ll make a second consecutive appearance at the Hopman Cup. She will be teaming up with Jiri Vesely as the pair will be representing the Czech Republic. Vesely will be making his debut at the international team event while this will be Safarova’s fourth time participating in it.

Safarova’s Hopman Cup Results

Back in 2007, the WTA finalist made her Hopman Cup debut. She teamed up with Tomas Berdych that year. She would lose her opening match against then highly-touted singles player Sania Mirza. She would go on to finish 2-1 after defeating Spain’s Anabel Medina Garrigues and Croatia’s Sanja Ancic.

She made it two consecutive trips to Perth and would once again team up with Berdych. Like the previous year, she lost her opening match, but this time it was to Australia’s Alicia Molik. In what would turn out to be a future French Open final matchup, Serena Williams defeated the lefty in three sets. Safarova would once again finish 2-1 in pool play after she exacted her revenge on Sania Mirza.

This year Safarova teamed up with Czech youngster Adam Pavlasek. They were placed in a group with Canada, Italy, and the United States, and she would have to face formidable opponents in Eugenie Bouchard, Flavia Pennetta, and Serena. It was a winning start for her as she destroyed Bouchard by a score of 6-0, 6-4, and she made it two for two with a 7-5, 6-3 win over Pennetta. In a rematch against Serena from back in 08, she fell short once again after being defeated in three sets.

Safarova and Vesely are looking to bring the Czech Republic to the finals of the Hopman Cup. The last time the Czechs lifted the title was back in 2012 when both Czech number ones, Berdych and Petra Kvitova, participated as they defeated France for the title.