Antonio Conte names final Italy squad for Euro 2016

Italy boss Antonio Conte has named his final 23-man squad for this summer's European Championships in France.

In a special live broadcast on Italian television on Tuesday evening, the outgoing manager of the Azzurri introduced the squad individually, before going on to name the seven players who would be dropped from the provisional 30.

Amongst the names omitted were Riccardo Montolivo, Giacoma Bonaventura and Jorginho.

Euro 2012 runner-up left out

For Montolivo, it is yet another story of woe. The AC Milan midfielder was an integral part of Cesare Prandelli's set-up in the past and made four appearances on the way to the Euro 2012 final in Kiev, where the nation were humbled by world champions Spain, 4-0. 

Montolivo suffered a broken leg before the World Cup in Brazil (photo:getty)
Montolivo suffered a broken leg before the World Cup in Brazil. (Photo: Getty)

Two years ago, Montolivo was again in Prandelli's squad for the World Cup in Brazil, before suffering a broken leg versus Republic of Ireland at Craven Cottage in a pre-tournament friendly. Once more this year, injury has intervened.

Jorginho was widely tipped to be an x-factor for Italy this summer, but the Brazilian-born Napoli midfielder has been left out. Bonaventura has also been omitted despite the clamour of Italian fans. I Rossoneri's 26 year-old made his international bow in 2013.

Elsewhere, Torino duo Davide Zappacosta and Marco Benassi will not be on the plane to France. Nor will defenders Davide Astori and Daniel Rugani of Juventus, who make up the final names to be left out.

The trio of Rugani, Zappacosta and Benassi remain on the reserve list.

The full squad:

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Federico Marchetti (Lazio), Salvatore Sirigu (Paris Saint-Germain).

Defenders: Andrea Barzagli (Juventus), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Angelo Ogbonna (West Ham United).

Midfielders: Federico Bernardeschi (Fiorentina), Antonio Candreva (Lazio), Matteo Darmian (Manchester United), Daniele De Rossi (Roma), Mattia De Sciglio (AC Milan), Stephan El Shaarawy (Roma), Alessandro Florenzi (Roma), Emanuele Giaccherini (Sunderland), Thiago Motta (Paris Saint-Germain), Marco Parolo (Lazio), Stefano Sturaro (Juventus).

Forwards: Eder (Inter), Ciro Immobile (Torino), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Graziano Pelle (Southampton), Simone Zaza (Juventus).