Hungary boss Stock names final 23 man squad

A first international tournament in three decades awaits Hungary and their squad is plentiful in attacking options

Hungary boss Stock names final 23 man squad
Hungary celebrate qualification |

Bernd Stock has named an attack heavy 23 man final squad for Hungary as they head for their first international tournament in thirty years and first European Championship since 1972.

The Nemzeti Tizenegy are in Group F and will entertain Cristiano Ronaldo's Portugal, David Alaba's Austria and Gylfi Sigurdsson's Iceland. Portgual are big favourites to be at the group's summit at the end of the group stage while Hungary and Austria are likely to contest it out for second place to avoid relying on being one of the four best third placed sides in the groups to advance.

Hopes of a nation on  Dzsudzsák's shoulders

Balázs Dzsudzsák will be heavily relied on to produce the goods for Hungary and there is every chance he can reignite interest from earlier on in his career when he was with PSV with a good showing at the tournament.

The winger was handed the captain's armband heading into the tournament ahead of veterans Gábor Király and Zoltán Gera who, despite not having the armband will give valuable experience to the squad. Gera's chances of making the tournament had a scare as he suffered with illness and pulled out of the most recent training camp but now fully recovered, the former West Brom man will likely lineup in the midfield on the first matchday.

Squad in full

Goalkeepers: Gábor Király (Haladás), Dénes Dibusz (Ferencváros), Péter Gulácsi (Leipzig).

Defenders: Attila Fiola (Puskás Akadémia), Barnabás Bese (MTK Budapest), Richárd Guzmics (Wisla Kraków), Roland Juhász (Videoton), Ádám Lang (Videoton), Tamás Kádár (Lech Poznań), Mihály Korhut (Debrecen).

Midfielders: Ákos Elek (Diósgyőri), Ádám Pintér (Ferencváros), Zoltán Gera (Ferencváros), Ádám Nagy (Ferencváros), László Kleinheisler (Werder Bremen), Gergő Lovrencsics (Lech Poznań), Zoltán Stieber (Nürnberg).

Forwards: Balázs Dzsudzsák (Bursaspor), Ádám Szalai (Hannover), Krisztián Németh (al-Gharafa), Nemanja Nikolic (Legia Warszawa), Tamás Priskin (Slovan Bratislava), Dániel Böde (Ferencváros).