Islacker joins Rauch and Bremer on the sidelines as Jones reshuffles squad
Image credit:

Islacker joins Rauch and Bremer on the sidelines as Jones reshuffles squad

Injuries aren't making squad selection easy for the new head coach.

Jonathan Walsh

Just days after Steffi Jones named her first Germany squad ahead of their upcoming Euro 2017 qualifiers, she has been dealt three injury blows.

Mandy Islacker was the latest in a trio of players to drop out, along with Felicitas Rauch and Pauline Bremer.

Leonie Maier and Sara Doorsoun were called up in the latter's absence, respectively, while Jones opted not to bring in a replacement for Islacker.

Time to test 

The now 20-strong squad will join up in Frankfurt on Monday, once the weekend's Frauen-Bundesliga action is complete, and then fly to Moscow on Wednesday.

They take on the Russians that Friday, before heading to Hungary and Györ on September 20th; Germany have already qualified as Group 5 winners.

There are three more games planned before 2017, all of which are in Germany: Regensburg (22nd October), Aalen (25th October) und Chemnitz (29th November).

Both matches against Russia and Hungary - along with the trio of home friendlies - will be used to test new players and formations by the new head coach.

With Melanie Behringer, Annike Krahn and Saskia Bartusiak all retired, finding a successful centre-back partnership quickly is a priority.

Due to the lack of pressure on the team in these forthcoming games, it is the perfect time to do so. 

Germany squad in full after alterations

Goalkeepers: Meike Kämper (MSV Duisburg), Almuth Schult (VfL Wolfsburg), Lisa Weiß (SGS Essen).

Defenders: Kristin Demann (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Josephine Henning (Arsenal), Tabea Kemme (Turbine Potsdam), Babett Peter (VfL Wolfsburg), Leonie Maier (Bayern Munich).

Midfielders: Anna Blässe (VfL Wolfsburg), Linda Dallmann (SGS Essen), Verena Faißt (Bayern Munich), Lena Goeßling (VfL Wolfsburg), Kathrin Hendrich (1. FFC Frankfurt), Svenja Huth (Turbine Potsdam), Isabel Kerschowski (VfL Wolfsburg), Jacqueline Klasen (SGS Essen), Sara Doorsoun (SGS Essen).

Forwards: Hasret Kayikci (SC Freburg), Lina Magull (SC Freiburg), Anja Mittag (VfL Wolfsburg).