Four Years On: How Leicester City's title win remains football's greatest miracle
The Premier League trophy is proudly displayed at the King Power Stadium | Photo: Getty/ Plumb Images

It is four years to the day that Leicester City completed the impossible of winning the Premier League after Chelsea's dramatic 2-2 draw with Tottenham Hotspur.

With Tottenham having one of the best seasons in their history, their failure to collect all three points against the likes of West Brom, West Ham and Chelsea resulted in the title being awarded to the East Midlands club.

Manchester City, who spent £54m on Kevin De Bruyne, finished 15 points behind the Foxes. The money spent on the Belgian midfielder equals the total of all the Foxes players combined, Leonardo Ulloa at £10m being the highest.

The 2015/16 campaign was and still is the most incredible sporting moment in history. But what footballing moments compare?

Europe success for Forest

In the late-70s, Nottingham Forest won the First Division at the first time of asking after achieving promotion from the Second Division a year earlier.

Embed from Getty Images

With the fifth-lowest points in total for a promoted team, Brian Clough's side then went onto win two European Cup's in 1979 and 1980.

Many pundits and football fans argue that the Foxes rival's achievement in Europe edges their success over the famous Premier League winning season.

Back when Forest ruled Europe, there were no easy games and there was far less money to spend, compared to the money thrown about on the players now.

However, this works in Leicester's favour. The Foxes title-winning squad equalling £54m, half of the value of second-placed Tottenham.

Danish famous Euros win

Back in 1992, Denmark missed out on qualification for the European Championship having finished runners-up to Yugoslavia.

However, after being in a state of civil war, Yugoslavia were ruled out of performing in the tournament. Denmark were handed just over a week's notice to prepare for the eight-team tournament.

After holding England to a 0-0 draw, Tomas Brolin's goal was the difference as Sweden continued their 100% start. With a win required and an England defeat needed, Denmark outclassed France 2-1 in Malmo to qualify for the next round.

In the semi-finals, a 5-4 penalty success over the impressive Netherlands set-up a final tie with Germany in Gothernburg. John Jensen and  Kim Vilfort's goal crowned Denmark champions of Europe.

Embed from Getty Images

Vilfort, speaking to BBC Sport said: "We had fantastic spirit. The team wanted to win and that's a very good thing when you're at the highest level. 

"When we were under pressure against Germany, it was the spirit that helped us.

"We didn't have the best players, but we had the best team."

The crazy gang make history

Liverpool faced Wimbledon in the 1988 final following a decade of domestic and European dominance. 

Embed from Getty Images

Their opponents, labelled the 'Crazy Gang' for their style of play and players, had been playing in non-league over 10 years prior.

After defeating West Brom, Manfield Town, Newcastle United, Watford and Luton in the road to Wembley, Lawrie Sanchez's 38th-minute goal stunned Kenny Dalglish's team.

Liverpool were handed a lifeline as Clive Goodyear was penalised for fouling John Aldridge in the penalty area. However, Dave Beasant became the first goalkeeper to save a penalty in a FA Cup final when he denied Aldridge from 12-yards. The cup win was the club's first success in the trophy.

With the ongoing ban on English teams competing in European competitions, Wimbledon were unable to compete in Europe the following year. 

The 'Crazy Gang' failed to build on their famous cup win, similarly like Leicester failed to build on their title win. Both, however, proving the underdog can always rule supreme.